Grandparents, parents, and technology

Enrique Dans
Enrique Dans
Published in
3 min readJul 4, 2014

--

A recent article in The Guardian discusses the use of technology to keep in touch with parents or grandparents, depending of course on your age, and theirs :-)

My parents are 70 and 75 respectively, and live some 600 kilometers away. Both of them use the computer for reading the news and emails, as well as for online banking and brokering, searching for information about their hobbies, etc. There are other technologies that I would like to see them using, but they are reluctant.

What combination of devices and technologies would be the most reasonable for people of their age to use? The answer is far from simple. Questions related to habits play a big role: changing a version of a system can easily create problems, although there is nothing wrong with sticking with what you have in some cases. The degree of experience of the person likely to help them out most of the time is also an important factor, particularly when this “technical service” will not be carried out in situ. Tools that allow for managing a computer remotely could be very useful for solving many problems.

In my experience, the value to be gained from the social networks requires some explanation. My mother-in-law tends to use Twitter to know what I am up to, or what her daughter or granddaughter is doing, but my parents very rarely use the social networks. Facebook also offers the possibility of keeping in touch: I have a great aunt aged 94 who is worthy of a case study for her use of Facebook, although I think that in many cases, investing a little time carefully explaining certain aspects of it is a worthwhile activity.

The smartphone presents a real challenge. That said, it has a very high value proposition, which leads me to be optimistic about continuing to try: the possibility of sharing location could be useful. Other devices have proved popular: my mother, who is a great reader, adores her Kindle, but tends to task buying new books to me. But the weight, the simplicity, the possibility of changing the size of the letter and being able to get a book immediately has proved irresistible.

Fitbit is a challenge yet to be taken up, but one that I am ready for: my mother recently underwent a tricky operation that requires regular exercise as part of the recovery process, and the possibility of having her practically “monitored” could be very useful not just for me (although perhaps I have become too trusting in the motivating effect that the quantified self has had on me since I started using it).

Have you had any interesting technology-related experiences with your parents or grandparents? Any issues related to adapting and adopting, incentives and disincentives? Sharing experiences can be a source of potentially good ideas. So let’s hear from you.

(En español, aquí)

--

--

Enrique Dans
Enrique Dans

Professor of Innovation at IE Business School and blogger (in English here and in Spanish at enriquedans.com)