Mmhmm: it just works!

Enrique Dans
Enrique Dans

--

On Tuesday I had the opportunity to try out mmhmm, the videoconferencing software recently presented by Phil Libin, still in closed beta, which I discussed a few weeks ago, promising I would give a full assessment when I’d had an opportunity to road test it.

The result has been simply fantastic. The program, at the moment only available for the macOS platform, has all the features needed for a great presentation, and is very user friendly. After a few minutes, I found it so simple and foolproof that I decided to use it for a presentation.

To do so, I used Zoom, where all you have to do is select it as a camera instead of your webcam or the camera you usually use. You can configure easily most other video conferencing programs (Blue Jeans, Facebook Messenger, Google Meet, GoToMeeting, Microsoft Teams, Houseparty and Jitsi). From there, you export your presentation to images, and load them into the program, where you can change their order, insert others etc., with total flexibility (soon, it will allow you to use PowerPoint or Keynote presentations directly, without having to import them as images). Previously, I was using the virtual backgrounds in Zoom for my presentation, changing them as I spoke, but that option lacked some flexibility, and if I wanted to change an image to put it in a different order, I had to delete it and reload it because I couldn’t simply drag and drop…

--

--

Enrique Dans
Enrique Dans

Professor of Innovation at IE Business School and blogger (in English here and in Spanish at enriquedans.com)