Television and disruption

Enrique Dans
Enrique Dans

--

One of the benefits of being married for many years to a TV blogger is that it has kept me up to date with developments about content I would otherwise miss because of lack of time, but that I do enjoy to some extent, if only as background noise when I work in my living room.

Television series are a form of content that I find very interesting: long considered the poor relatives of the seventh art and usually featuring also-ran actors, they now attract top talent, enjoy multimillion dollar budgets and their series premieres are global phenomena. This transformation can perhaps best be evaluated over the years based on the results of that indicator of relative popularity, the Emmy Awards.

Aware of the progressive market dominance of television by newcomers such as Netflix or Amazon, I asked my wife Susana, a faithful follower of the Emmy awards and even jury of an Emmy category when we lived in Los Angeles and she was working for Fox, to furnish me with data about this progression over the last four years. These are the results:

  • 2013: this was the first time two Netflix series were listed as nominees in the main categories: House of Cards as best drama and comedy series Arrested Development for Best Actor (Jason Bateman). This year Netflix was among the Top 10 channels with more nominations occupying ninth place: five in all.

--

--

Enrique Dans
Enrique Dans

Professor of Innovation at IE Business School and blogger (in English here and in Spanish at enriquedans.com)