The Spanish prime minister’s worthless apology for yet another corruption scandal

Enrique Dans
Enrique Dans
Published in
5 min readOct 30, 2014

--

On Wednesday, Spanish Prime Minister Mariano Rajoy apologized to the country for yet another corruption case. His words, to say the least were far from convincing, and at this stage it is hard to believe that he or any other politician is really going to do anything to prevent this country from sliding inexorable toward what we might call a corruptocracy. In short, like most people my reaction was: “Don’t make me laugh.”

I have never been a politician, nor am I politically correct. But I do know something about management, which I have written about and taught for a quarter of a century. Watching our prime minister address the Senate, and subsequently reading his tweet, my impression was of a man who no longer, if he ever did, believes in himself or the post he occupies. It would have been laughable had it not been so tragic. Because, lest we forget, this seemingly endless carnival of corruption, of commissions and kickbacks, is being paid for by my taxes. Our taxes. Every day, an invisible hand reaches into our pockets and steals our money. And the biggest thief of all has the brass neck to stand up in the Senate and ask our forgiveness. Great.

Quite simply, it is beyond my understanding how the leader of the country’s ruling party, one which has been hit by scandal after scandal…

--

--

Enrique Dans
Enrique Dans

Professor of Innovation at IE Business School and blogger (in English here and in Spanish at enriquedans.com)