Alternatives To Pricey Office Suites Software

I needed a cheaper way to get my writing done

Mary Jones
3 min readMay 9, 2022

--

Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

This year, I am expecting another baby. That makes four children that I will have in total. Kids, especially newborns, bring so many added expenses. So, I started thinking of ways I can cut costs in my freelance writing business and still have the necessary tools to continue my freelance writing business seamlessly.

As a writer, you have to have some type of software to write your copy in. After hours of research in the early morning hours, I found some great free alternatives to Microsoft Word and Adobe PDF specifically. The one I ultimately chose was Libre Office.

What Is Libre Office?

LibreOffice is free and open-source software, which is a source code that anyone can see and edit. Open Source Software is a source code that anyone can see and make changes to. Here’s how IBM describes it:

Open-source software (OSS) is a decentralized development model that distributes source code publicly for open collaboration and peer production known as “the open-source way.”

--

--

Mary Jones

Mary is a Creative Writer, Blogger, and Poet. Expect to read her poetry and about freelance writing, mental health, depression, creativity, and passive income.