I Almost Had An Abortion After Unprotected Sex

Mary Jones
Ensemble Of Writing
4 min readOct 5, 2021

--

Photo by Joey Thompson on Unsplash

My twenties were a time of discovery. Admittedly, I was reckless in my actions. I was dealing with unresolved grief, sexual abuse, and abandonment, all while being a mother to a toddler. It was a time in which I wish I had a magic wand to fix and erase the mistakes I made.

I had such low self-esteem then that I lowered myself to accept attention from men that hardly deserved my even taking a second glance at them. That resulted in me having many sexual relations with multiple men.

One of those encounters was with a man that I had a regular sexual relationship with. He was someone that I thought I had a deep connection with. We would talk on the phone for hours about the many things we had in common.

He was a creative, like me. He had artist skills and was into music. He was someone I saw myself with, but he constantly stated he didn’t want a relationship.

He was one of those.

Once I found out I got pregnant, I called him. I remember that conversation so well. His words still ring in my head. After I told him I was pregnant, he said,

“See ya in nine months.”

And concluded with him hanging up the phone.

Later, I found out he was in a relationship and she was pregnant, too. I was the other…

--

--

Mary Jones
Ensemble Of Writing

Mary is a Creative Writer, Blogger, and Poet. Expect to read her poetry and about freelance writing, mental health, depression, creativity, and passive income.