Stepping into the world of code

Maddy King
Enspiral Dev Academy
4 min readMar 11, 2018

Enspiral Dev Academy is a Web Development school in Auckland and Wellington, New Zealand. Graduate Timothy Tolley shares this piece from CodingAli.com, a content hub for everything tech and code. He wrote this during Phase Zero.

Timothy Tolley, Enspiral Dev Academy graduate

Like many who have ventured into the seemingly daunting world of web development and code before me, I did so to add a string to my relatively sparse professional bow. As a graduate in Ancient History and Classics, I didn’t step out into the wonderful world of professional careers as I maybe once had hoped. It seemed to me that the realms of the ‘Indiana Jones’-type historian and the curators of great museums were perhaps slightly out of reach with my relatively insignificant bachelor’s degree.

And so, I stumbled across web development almost by accident. I am currently settling deep into the preparation stage of Enspiral Dev Academy’s 18* week rags to riches course in web development.

At first I wasn’t sure about the whole coding thing. I had never been one of those people who would spend hours alone on their computers when I was younger. In fact, I had always been more interested in how the physical mechanics of things worked rather than how software helped to make them run smoothly. So, I was surprised when I walked away from a brief meeting with a few of the staff members at Dev Academy’s office knowing that I was about to embark on a new learning experience.

“Coding for me, I hope, will be the springboard towards pursuing some of the things I love most.”

First and foremost, the ability to work remotely using Github, Google hangouts and the like, has been a huge pull factor for me to learn to code. The freedom to travel and experience life as I believe it should be lived is hugely appealing. Being able to work for almost any business in the world is equally inviting — see if you can name one company in your top 10 future employers who doesn’t have a kickass website or use some technology that needs a software developer to maintain. The opportunities for a developer in today’s employment environment seem to me to be unrivalled. For myself personally, I would love to one day use my degree and coding skill in tandem and create something new for the world of history and art which helps to bring it for the next generation, whether it be a website or a VR headset for that matter. Coding, I have come to realise, doesn’t have to be the end game, but rather it can be the tools you use to pursue what you have always wanted.

As I mentioned before, I’m working through the preparation stage of Dev Academy’s web development course. This stage is conducted online and at home with students working at their own pace through 9 ‘sprints’ which can be completed in as many weeks. I’m personally working a bit slower than that while working full time and aim to finish in 12 with plenty of time to practice my touch typing and grow my skill base before diving into the next stage — a 9 week fulltime bootcamp.

We learn 3 main languages in prep: HTML, CSS and JavaScript (both front end and server based). From knowing nothing 10 weeks ago, I have now created things online which I would never have even considered before and I am absolutely loving it. Code is incredible as it is such a tangible and interactive experience, especially on the front end (everything you can see on a webpage, for example). To be able to make a blog from scratch and update it while being able to see it update live is a pretty incredible experience and I am so happy that I decided to jump into this new journey.

“Coding, I have come to realise, doesn’t have to be the end game, but rather it can be the tools you use to pursue what you have always wanted.”

I think the main reason I chose to go to Dev Academy in particular, is that they are looking to breakdown the stigma that is attached to computer sciences. Code isn’t a male only realm which expects you to be introverted and uncreative but is rather a profession which needs new and enthusiastic people who can understand the needs of the market. Dev Academy’s aim isn’t just to push newly skilled web developers out into the world. It is to develop a group of people with excellent communication skills, who can code incredible software, websites and servers with a real and genuine understanding of what has been communicated to them.

I’m a 22-year-old Barista with a degree in Ancient History and Classics who is learning to code in order to live life how I want to. I’ve never done anything like this before but I’m learning quick and I can hardly imagine where the future might take me.

Check out CodingAli.com for more insights into the tech world.

If you’d like to begin your journey into tech and craft your future, apply for Dev Academy today.

--

--