Enterprise Design guidelines

Design process within enterprise platforms and frameworks

Peter Zalman
Enterprise UX
2 min readDec 18, 2020

--

We see a growing population of designers joining the enterprise domain. This exciting trend contributes to a more human digital experience of professional software and removes some decades-old stereotypes about enterprise software being the most suffering user experience one can have with the technology.

Principles vs. Execution

Underlying principles of good design practice are the same for B2C, B2B, enterprise software, or a public website. But the execution is fundamentally different. I see many Designers struggling with their approach, especially if they join the enterprise environment as already established leaders in different domains.

Designers already have a seat at the table at large enterprises and often play an important role in team staffing. Yet, a lot of enterprise products are similar to years ago. We are engaged in never-ending conversations about design value, debunking myths about design slowing down the delivery, and comparing the enterprise environment to Startups.

Context

I decided to wrap up my observations to guide aspiring and practicing designers and product managers in the enterprise environment. My current domain is the world of ServiceNow platform (PaaS), and I am genuinely interested in other platforms such as Box, Salesforce, Microsoft O365. I focus on areas that make enterprise software different from consumer products, startups, digital agencies, and web design engagements. I structured my thoughts into three chapters.

1. Enterprise Design Discovery

2. Lateral innovation

3. Low-code application design

--

--

Peter Zalman
Enterprise UX

I am crafting great ideas into working products and striving for balance between Design, Product and Engineering #UX. Views are my own.