Meet your new Editor:

J Gordon Curtis
Entheogen
2 min readApr 12, 2021

--

Photo credit: Walker Creates

Hi, fam! My name is J Gordon Curtis and I wanted to introduce myself as your new editor! I’m a freelance writer based out of Nashville, Tennessee and I’m thrilled to be taking over the reigns here!

It was roughly one year ago that I took the journey with the mushroom that I posted about in this very publication. That day changed my life forever and allowed me to throw off the shackles of secrecy that keep so many in the dark about their use of plant medicines (or “drugs,” if ur a cop.)

I grew up around cannabis my whole life but mostly avoided it thanks to government disinformation campaigns until I was 26. Without going into the personal details, 26 was a terrible year in my life and I turned to cannabis to numb that pain. What I wasn’t expecting was that smoking would actually open me up to it. Weed allowed me to observe that pain and grow from it instead of being crushed by the pressure.

I decided to throw myself headlong into writing at the start of quarantine. I didn’t have much of a plan but I knew I wanted to write and I knew I dug weed. As such, my professional life is largely oriented around cannabis writing these days and I’ve learned more than I could have ever imagined in the span of just the last year.

My personal life has been centered on entheogenic writing just like the kind we’ll be hosting right here. Days off have repeatedly been spent at the computer toiling over dull scientific studies and obscure podcasts. Those have been some of the best days off I’ve ever had.

Terrance McKenna said he talked about plant medicines because they were a birthright that people were being deprived of. I’ve thought about that a lot over the course of the last year and I believe that it has largely driven my passion for this line of writing. Public opinion is shifting but it’s not going to shift fast enough if we don’t encourage others to share the ways they have grown from plant medicines.

If you wanna chill on the internet, you can find me on Twitter and Instagram (this is almost exclusively pictures of my dog.) I also have a super infrequent newsletter if you’re interested in following all of my writing!

Cheers,

J Gordon Curtis

--

--

J Gordon Curtis
Entheogen

J Gordon Curtis is a freelance writer in the cannabis space with a passion for the decriminalization of nature. Reach out: Jgordoncurtis.com/contact