Attempting New Poetry Forms

Christine Graves
Enticing the Muse
Published in
2 min readJan 28, 2022

--

Taking a step out of my comfort zone

Photo by Jr Korpa on Unsplash

So, I’ve been trying to push past a personal issue of mine. As a writer, I’m always looking to expand my horizons. However, as a poet, I’m a little stubborn.

I’ve always held rhyming poetry close to my heart. It’s an issue I’ve held on to for nearly forty years. I’m bound and determined to write rhyming poetry whether anyone else likes it or not. But, to be fair, I’ve been trying my hand at free verse. Turns out, I’m not completely horrible at it.

Then, Cendrine Marrouat created a poetry form that just hit me. She calls it a Sepigram and it’s so cool. I just had to give it a try. Check out her post for all the juicy details.

So, here are my first 2 attempts at writing a Sepigram. I hope I did it right, cause this could quickly become one of my favorite forms.

Breathe

Breathe
Close your eyes and let it go
Exhale all the ills that plague your soul
Breathe
Cleanse the pallet of your internal self
Feel the weight of the world lift away
Breathe

--

--

Christine Graves
Enticing the Muse

Wife, mother, grandmother, poet, storyteller, crocheter, ancient history fanatic, and lover of a good story.