Nothing Left but the Grounds

Christine Graves
Enticing the Muse
Published in
4 min readFeb 9, 2023

--

Over Coffee Issue 14

Photo by Noora AlHammadi on Unsplash

Hello, my beautiful babies. Welcome to what will probably be the most depressing issue of Over Coffee you’ve read to date. I’ll warn you right now, if you’re not in the mood to read something that will dampen your mood, turn back. Also, there may be some rather strong language from here on out. Fair warning.

Okay, I’ll try not to make this whole thing a total bummer. However, my life has gone from so-so to WTF!!! I always try to be happy and upbeat, but it’s becoming harder and harder every day. I’m struggling to find things to inspire me, other than you guys. Here’s the whole ugly scenario.

As I’ve mentioned before, I became very sick last November. I just didn’t go into details. The truth is, I almost died. I was at work one day and felt as though something exploded in my abdomen. I went to the doctor only to find out I had two grapefruit-sized pockets of infection in there and that my colon was spewing poison into my system.

I ended up in the hospital for a week on a steady drip of heavy-duty antibiotics. It seemed things were getting better so I went home, then back to work. That ended on December 6th.

I ended up back in the hospital on another antibiotic drip, but also ended up with a drainage bag inserted into one of my butt cheeks. Seriously, that shit hurt worse…

--

--

Christine Graves
Enticing the Muse

Mother, grandmother, poet, storyteller, craft hoarder, ancient history fanatic, vintage junk collector, and classic smartass.