Not Motivated Enough?

Jag Sandhu
Entrefied
Published in
6 min readMar 18, 2019

Let me show you the way.

Photo by Samuel Zeller on Unsplash

It is true that in order to succeed in life, you need to have a solid discipline. But, what we all forget is that there is an important step, which we have to take, before attaining that discipline. “That step” itself is called Motivation.

A few years ago, I found myself dreaming about all the “good things” I want in the future. In other words, I had all these “visions” of what my life “should” look like but the reality was that I had no motivation at all to discipline myself for those dreams. As Eminem puts it,

I was shooting for the moon but I was too busy gazing the stars. — Eminem

Now, you might have different opinions regarding that quote. What I’m trying to address is the fact that I was so comfortable in my own dreams that I paid absolutely no attention towards all the efforts needed to achieve those dreams.

Photo by Kinga Cichewicz on Unsplash

My aim, with this blog, is to share a few things that have helped me to get extremely motivated and have made the process of being disciplined like a literal “walk in the park.” Through this process, I’m able to do both, motivate myself first, and then, discipline myself to do any project on a daily basis.

So, to all those, who find themselves “gazing the stars”, I’ve got something to say that’s going to lift you up and make you believe that “your mind can achieve whatever it can perceive.” (Napoleon Hill)

A Personal Note

Photo by Helloquence on Unsplash

The strategy used in this article comes straight out of the genius mind of Jordan Belfort. I encourage you guys to check out some of his work in order to gain some valuable insights towards Entrepreneurship. As I mentioned above, this particular strategy has had a massive impact on my personal motivation.

My recommendation would be to understand each and every element of this strategy. You can even listen to some of Jordan’s talks for that. Then, to actually go ahead and instill these elements within your personality. Do this and believe me, you will feel the very motivation you need to achieve your discipline.

So, without further ado, Let’s jump right in. 🤓

  1. A Willingness to Succeed
Photo by Steven Lelham on Unsplash

As they say that “great leaders are born not made”, a “desire” or a “willingness” is needed to take the very first step towards growth. This “willingness” could be towards anything. Whether you want to sing, act, cut hair, run, draw or go in space. Whatever it is that you want to do, you need to “wanna do something about it”.

In other words, you should be walking and talking about it all through your day. People, who surround you, should identify you as a passionate person. They need to know that he/she is legit and his/her beliefs are 100% solid. You gotta have that forever-burning fire in your eyes, which is visible even from a distance.

Photo by Chris Rhoads on Unsplash

Several mentors of mine always say that your own “energy”, “enthusiasm” and “excitement” should steal your sleep during the night time. And I believe that this fact is extremely true. Therefore, after Jordan’s seminar, I focussed all of my energy on “finding something” that excited me the most.

I encourage you guys to do the same. Pin down on your passion. You need to know what excites you the most and the same time, you need to make a decision to “be willing” to succeed in whatever that is.

2. Grabbing the Right Opportunities

Photo by Diego PH on Unsplash

Now, this task requires all of us to keep our eyes and ears open at all times. The reason for that being that we need to be aware of all the existing opportunities that we can leverage. Also, this “opportunity-seeking” task needs us to be open-minded to new possibilities.

This means that you’d have to “terminate your limiting beliefs and give it a shot”. Success, I believe, comes to those who are willing to try. Jordan Belfort gave an excellent example regarding this. He says that if you want to make money, sitting in a blanket and thinking about your cheque is not gonna get you anything. You’d have to actually step out and take action in order to get that.

You must have heard many people, who say that “they were at the right place at the right time”, but I believe that as they were out there looking for an opportunity, they received it before anyone else did.

Thus, taking action every single day in order to literally “hunt” for opportunities, will open new doors for you. It’ll also make you feel extremely motivated.

At this point, I want to thank Patrick Hughes for giving me this opportunity to write for Entrefied 😉. I aim to add an immense amount of value through this opportunity.

3. A “Working Hard” Attitude

Photo by Hannah Gibbs on Unsplash

“Work” might only be a small, 4-letter word, but as we all know that its impact is huge. If done consistently and in the right direction, work can actually “bridge the gap” between your reality and your dreams.

A hardworking attitude is directly proportional to your discipline. Every opportunity that you take, you must ensure that your work ethic meets the standard of your dreams. This is important because your discipline is formed due to your daily habits. Therefore, the more you put in the effort, the more you will achieve.

Photo by Quino Al on Unsplash

To make sure that I'm working hard every single day, I make a list of all the necessary tasks I need to achieve that day. Then, I tend to give my 100 percent towards completing those tasks. This is one strategy that can help you to form that necessary discipline.

Thus, being motivated is a process. Just like any other process, this requires time, effort and patience. You need to be willing to give a lot more than you actually receive. My attempts to write blogs and create content are a result of this motivation. Through the medium of this article, I wish to show you that anyone can feel extremely enthusiastic about anything, only if he/she is willing to do so.

Thanks for reading!

--

--

Jag Sandhu
Entrefied

I've got something to say! Creativity. Entrepreneurship. Host @ The International Connection Podcast. https://theinternationalconnection.com/