Buy a sticker and bring food security to people in NYC 🥐🧁🫐

Sharon Dayoung Lee
Entrepreneurial Design
2 min readMar 24, 2021
Stickers will be in color for the final version

N-Y-C. This three-letter acronym means a lot of different things to people. The City That Never Sleeps. Broadway musicals. The Central Park. Soho, etc. Among the myriads of words that would pop up in people’s minds, food security seems like the very last thing.

However, for more than 1.5 million New Yorkers this is the harsh reality they wake up to every day. Food insecurity in New York City is at a historically high level since the 2008 recession, with one in six residents and one in five children in the city living in homes that can’t afford enough food, according to federal data analyzed by NYC Coalition Against Hunger (NYCCAH).

“The number of New Yorkers who struggle to put on the table is larger than the entire population of San Francisco, California”

– City Harvest

Through this sticker project, I will be creating dessert stickers with a goal to raise $1,000. At the end of the project, I will be donating 50% of the proceedings to City Harvest, a New York-based food rescue organization with a mission to feeding hungry New Yorkers, neighbors helping neighbors.

Not an influencer or anything but it’s a start 🤠😉

To achieve my goal, I will be actively using my food Instagram account or marketing the stickers, first reaching out to my followers (primary audience) who will very likely be interested in food stickers. Then, I will be reaching out to similar foodie accounts, sending them free stickers so that if they like them, they can advertise the stickers for me (and additionally, direct their followers to my account).

Based on a competitive analysis of e-commerce platforms, I decided that Etsy has the right audience for it and would be most suitable for selling stickers.

Currently, I’m in the process of selecting a print shop to work with. Preferably, somewhere in the city so that I can go in and check the paper quality, see the samples, maybe get discounts if I get lucky 🤞

The stickers will be bundled up to 4–5 a pack and will be sold for $4 + tax + shipping. These details are still being figured out.

Thanks for reading +stay tuned for updates 🚀

--

--

Sharon Dayoung Lee
Entrepreneurial Design

Currently @svaixd | a proud alum @cmudesign | Product Design @runwayml