Your Self-improvement is within your hands!

Photo by Giulia Bertelli on Unsplash

So many people want to improve themselves. People who truly ask for a change in their lives. And yet, few of them actually succeed in doing so. Ask yourself! How many times have you read books about self-improvement? How many times have you watched videos, heard stories or attended seminars in hope to find the solution you have always been looking for?

Now, think about the moment when this passion of yours, to make a difference in your life, was slowly disappearing. It may have had to do with your busy daily routine and lifestyle, maybe with your lack of commitment or your habit to procrastinate. Either way the actual desire and effort for a change became a very difficult task.

I myself have tried to do better, to be better! I started to think what could I possibly find to put me in the right direction. I looked for applications, books, and lots of other stuff but things didn’t just turn out the way I expected. I compared myself, my needs and my progress with those of others and felt constant disappointment. It took me quite some time to realize that I don’t need to be like everyone else. Just like our own way of improvement, we are all one of a kind!

Having access to a tool that is adapted to our needs is very useful nowadays. Which is why, I began to consider the idea of creating an app, that would help its users make time for themselves and of course answer to their desire for self-awareness and improvement. While trying to form this idea of mine, I searched again for already existing apps that target the same problem. Although there were some very helpful examples, it was evident that there was still enough room for me to offer something new. So, I came up with “discoverMe”, with the hope that this application could turn into everyone’s daily and interesting habit.

Everything you need in an app

Self-improvement is only successful when we actually become aware of ourselves. And when we do accept our qualities and imperfections, we are in position of growing! I was inspired by author and journalist Brianna Wiest and her insight of this matter. In her attempt to improve herself gradually, she spoke of a hidden wholeness inside of everyone, that awaits to be found. Using the verb “discover” for the application, I wanted to grasp the true meaning of understanding who we are.

Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

How can we discover ourselves? By making time for us! We all deserve some alone time, especially on the days when we aren’t at our best. At first, in my concept users of the “discoverMe” app would list the GOALS they would like to achieve (e.g. I want to be in control of my anxiety) and also what they think they SHOULD be (e.g. I should be polite or caring to myself). When they finish, the app would be able to create a personalized guide for each of them, which would include configured content, in order to assist them with their problem.

Here are some segments that might be interesting

TASKS: In this potential “journey”, users would have the opportunity to take some tests, exercises and/or activities, designed by experts. Gradually, they could identify traits of their character and personality, learn about their feelings and reactions.

CHALLENGES: According to users’ progress, the app would make available some challenges, usually in the form of affirmations. For example, users could be asked to mention three things that they are proud of or three things for which they would forgive themselves.

QUOTES: I find it very encouraging when I read inspiring quotes. I keep writing them down and always refer back to them when I need some motivation. That is the reason why I thought of having a segment in the app with cheering and driven visualized content.

EXTRA: “discoverMe” could also provide information about upcoming seminars and couching sessions the users would like to attend.

It is very important to highlight the difference this app would make. Like said above, the way and rhythm of self-improvement is unique for everyone. “discoverME” would keep up with each user and offer a realistic plan that is both efficient and not stressful.

--

--

Iphigenia Tepetidi
Digital Media Startups  and Entrepreneurial Journalism Solutions

Journalist, MA in Information Society, Media and Technology at Panteion University, Department of Communication, Media and Culture