#6 Ando Ginting — he started a video production company in a foreign land

Lydia Heng
Entrepreneurs of Southeast Asia
4 min readOct 16, 2021

--

Introduction

Ando and I go way back to 2010 where we met in Berastagi, a city 2.5 hours away from Medan, North Sumatra, Indonesia. Ando is a dear brother who now lives in Singapore. He set up G23 Film in 2019, a creative video production company.

Photo of Ando Ginting, owner of G23 Film

Tell me about yourself and your business

I came to Singapore 9 years ago after marrying my wife who is a Singaporean. At that time, I was not able to speak English very well. I had very low confidence and self-esteem.

When I came to Singapore, life was tough. I started my career as a kitchen cleaner in one of the golf clubs in Singapore. I consider this the first job in my life as I used to play professional soccer. In my second job, I was a waiter. Then, I became a carpet cleaner. While I worked, I also enjoyed my hobby, taking photos and videos with my camera.

One day, I submitted my portfolio to a production company in Singapore. I was asked me to go for an interview the next day. The interviewer was really interested in my resume because I am not a graduate, have no university education, but I still submitted my portfolio. The next day, he said I could join the company.

--

--

Lydia Heng
Entrepreneurs of Southeast Asia

Writer and aspiring entrepreneur. She shares thought provocative insights and stories based on her experiences, observations, and interactions with others.