How I failed on my startup idea pitch

Sah. V. Lasso
entrepreneurship & innovation 101
2 min readNov 14, 2017

I worked around startups for a while in an incubator but I never had a startup to call my own. :(

One day I had an idea, talked to a friend and there it was! We had a startup idea! (Sounds easy,right? It was not! It was a LOT of talking and discussing…and post its!)

We talked to a professor in our university that teaches entrepreneurship for around 20 years and he liked the idea. We were super happy with it! We could totally see a future for it! (Sounds easy, right? It´s not!)

We saw an opening in a student organization of the university and decided to apply, even if we did not have a lot to talk about because we had the idea two days before…we decided to try it anyways…

We sat in an afternoon, we did the Canvas for the startup idea, we did a logo, we got a name, we prepared for the questions that would come…we felt like we were ready!

WE WERE WRONG!

We were in front of the mentors and after the 5 minutes pitch the questions started…

and let me tell you, my friend…you can read about it, you can watch Shark Tank, you can listen to other entrepreneurs….but when it is YOU there in front of the board…it´s different!

and we had a weak point…me or her were not able to do it, we were not able to technological develop the idea. We knew that but in our heads that would not be a problem and the biggest problem was that we told them that we had the idea some days before …

Obviously, we didn't make it…it was sad, it hurts but even if I was one of the mentors probably I would not approve us either.

We were not prepared at all.

Will we give up?

NO!

And you know why?

Because now we see entrepreneurship as a sport. It takes practice, failure, tears and time to be good at, to be successful!

The internet is full of stories of entrepreneurs that failed X times before being successful but my advice for you is READ them but also TRY it yourself, if you want to be an entrepreneur.

We are both still thinking about the startup idea and will work on it. Next time we will be better prepared and already with experience on pitching and talking to mentors!

Entrepreneurship is not easy but it is totally worth it!

Pictures from:StockSnap

--

--

Sah. V. Lasso
entrepreneurship & innovation 101

Curious and focused as a cat with a laser. Expert in jumping out from the comfort zone by doing things I´m not good at! Publishing here since Sep 20, 2017.