Why do you want to get into entrepreneurship?

is it about money, people or just yourself?

Sah. V. Lasso
entrepreneurship & innovation 101
3 min readJan 22, 2018

--

you know you want it…(picture from StockSnap)

No, I still don´t have a startup to call my own.

No, I don´t have a lot of experience as an entrepreneur myself.

there are thousands of articles giving reasons people want to be entrepreneurs and this is just one more, but with my twisted point of view :)

…if there is one thing I learnt is that most of the time entrepreneurs open their startups for : money, people or themselves.

Money

Most stories we find online are of entrepreneurs getting rich, almost like magic! Open a startup & get rich!

but it is not like that…

still some entrepreneurs that I know are focused only on opening a business to get rich, be successful and have fame & power.

well, there are plenty of career choices that allow you to get rich and I personally believe that if you do something you like, you have a costumer base and you are not an asshole, you can get rich by doing it.

I understand that some people are driven by money, money opportunity and financial craziness but it can be interesting to also read about the other side.

how much hard work is also involved in entrepreneurship, how many startups die (most of them), the investment, the costumers, the market, the work hours…its a lot of things!

People

aw! (picture from StockSnap)

Sometimes you just want to help others…I get it, I want to help others too!

but…

do you know their pain?

do you know what they need?

do you know how much they can pay for it?

do you know who they are?

Helping people can be the right start, and that is actually where I´m starting when I´m thinking about my own startup, but to be honest I still don´t know the answer to those questions here on top! Maybe that is the reason why I still don´t have my startup up and running…

It takes time and passion to know who you want to help, what you can do to those people and who they are.

In my case, my startup will focus on students but what else? What else do I know of them? besides being a student myself and having some friends who are students…nothing.

I know my pain but is it everyone´s pain also? is it worth to fix it?…

YOU

(picture from StockSnap)

Yeah, you.

Some people got caught in the entrepreneurial hype and what to be an entrepreneur too!

Just like when one kid decides he wants to be an astronaut and then all the other kids want to be an astronaut too! Its fun and its cool!

Yeah, entrepreneur is the new astronaut, it sounds cool when you say you are an entrepreneur…so you also want to be one!

maybe you don´t have a business idea, maybe you don´t want to help anyone, maybe you don´t even want to get rich…you just want the title: entrepreneur.

…yeah mate, maybe you should be an astronaut…:)

--

--

Sah. V. Lasso
entrepreneurship & innovation 101

Curious and focused as a cat with a laser. Expert in jumping out from the comfort zone by doing things I´m not good at! Publishing here since Sep 20, 2017.