ENTROPIC NARRATIVE

Diary of a Young King

Saturday, February 11, 1452, at noon

Entropic Narratives
Entropic Narratives

--

Saturday, February 11, 1452, at noon

A messenger spoke of a place called “Constantinople”. I pretended to care, but honestly, I thought he was just making up words.

Saturday, February 11, 1452, at evening

Apparently, Constantinople is real. I feel betrayed by geography. No one told me about this sooner.

Monday, March 19, 1452, at noon

What makes me such a big boy?
I wandered into Poland and I broke the sand.
The council gave me a thumbs up.

Friday, April 20, 1452, at evening

Returned to the Polish mines. They pulse with pride, change, and lumps of indeterminate origin. My mines have a certain tragic elegance.
I can’t explain it better.

Tuesday, June 12, 1452, at noon

They stung four times as the vibration flowed.
I declared a war on the wasp and gadfly.

Tuesday, June 12, 1452, at noon

I will make peace with the wasp and the gadfly.

Saturday, July 21, 1452, at evening

I caught a spider in my chamber. I knighted it Sir Legs-a-Lot. Long may he spin.

Wednesday, September 5, 1452, at night

It seems that the church is in charge, and I yawn. This drama is as predictable as the sunset.
I’ll let them play at authority while I continue winning in silence.

Wednesday, November 28, 1452, at morning

Tried on the crown again. Still too heavy. Maybe it’s the guilt. Maybe it’s the gold.

Wednesday, January 30, 1453, at night

Tax, boom, pillarization: wonderfully common in the southern regions.
Clarity is overrated; let the peasants stumble in the dark.

Tuesday, May 29, 1453, at night

Constantinople has fallen. I suppose that means my lunch plans are ruined.
On the bright side, I won’t have to hear about it anymore.

--

--