SCI-FI

The Eternal Layover

At a space hotel

Nanji Erode
Entropies

--

The word HOTEL on top of a building
Photo by Marten Bjork on Unsplash

“Welcome to Stardust, the finest space hotel within the Kuiper belt. How may I assist you today?” The receptionist flashed a bright smile.

“Uh, hi. I’m here to check in. Name’s Jack Hawkins,” I replied, adjusting my grip on my space-grade luggage.

“Certainly, Mr. Hawkins. How many nights?”

“Two nights. I check out Wednesday morning, boarding the ST3498 spaceship bound for the planet Kb-124.”

“Your room is ready. Here is your access card.” She handed me a bright red card bearing the Stardust logo. “You may want to check out early on Wednesday, Mr. Hawkins. Since ST3498 operates on a high-demand route, many checkouts are expected on that day.”

I nodded, turning to survey the lobby. That’s when I spotted him — an elderly man, silver-haired and hunched, sitting alone in a corner.

Curiosity piqued, I approached. “Mind if I join you?”

He looked up, eyes cloudy but alert. “Be my guest, young man. It’s not often I get company these days.”

“I’m Jack,” I said, settling into the chair across from him. “Just checked in. Have you been here long?”

A wry smile crossed his weathered face. “Longer than you’d believe. Name’s Harold. I’ve been a… permanent resident here… for 46 years now.”

I blinked, sure I’d misheard. “I’m sorry, did you say 46 years?”

Harold nodded slowly. “Missed my connecting flight to the planet Xd-539 back in 2876. Been here ever since.”

“But… how? Couldn’t you book another flight?”

He chuckled, but there was no humor in it. “It’s not that simple up here, son. Interplanetary travel isn’t always straightforward. Planetary alignments, cosmic events, visa issues… It can take several decades for another suitable flight.”

“Couldn’t you go back to Earth?”

“It would have taken another thirty-five years to go back. By then I would have been old, so what’s the point?”

A chill ran down my spine. “So you’re just… stuck here?”

He nodded. “Until the end. Make sure you don’t miss your flight, Jack.”

I stood up, suddenly eager to leave.

“It was nice meeting you, Harold. I hope… I hope things get better for you.”

He smiled sadly. “Safe travels, Jack. And remember — always keep an eye on the clock in space. You never know when time might slip away from you.”

--

--

Nanji Erode
Entropies

Ideator, Copywriter, Movie Lover, Science Enthusiast, Minimalist.