Envato’s community just passed $500M in lifetime community earnings!

And when the community succeeds, we succeed

Collis
Envato
2 min readApr 10, 2017

--

(Image credit: Fabrizio Verrecchia)

The other day I read something that really stuck with me. It was about the potential of things, and it read:

The tree exists within the seed.

When something new starts out, all of its potential is already there. There is no one moment when a seed becomes a tree. It has always been a tree.

Over a decade ago when Envato was starting we had a community of designers, developers, and freelancers. It was a tiny group, scattered around the globe. And probably to the outside world, it wouldn’t have looked like much. It was very much just the seed of a community. But it had potential. Boy, did it have potential! Within that seed, lay an epic community.

The other day I got a message from the analytics team here at Envato. Our community’s all-time earnings have passed $500,000,000. This means that over half a billion dollars has gone to our community of creatives around the world. It’s pretty staggering. And it makes me very proud.

A few of our community members from around the world.

If our community is the tree, then I like to think that Envato was the particular patch of soil where it has taken root. I’m pretty sure the talented designers, developers, creatives, animators and artisans we have at Envato would have been talented and successful with or without us. But I like to think that maybe, we’ve helped them grow a little taller, a little greener, and a little more vibrant. That’s certainly what we’re dedicated to doing.

We’ve had year after year of new community records. And we’re proud to walk together with you all to the next big milestone. Whether you’ve been here since the very beginning, or you just joined recently — we wanted to thank you!

--

--

Collis
Envato

Hi, I’m Collis. I’m the cofounder and CEO of Envato. I love to design, write and make stuff. I’m also a Baha’i.