Greetings from the Green Room

Environexus
Nero by Environexus
3 min readSep 30, 2017

When I first met the Environexus team I wasn’t even aware it would turn out to be an interview! I was in Melbourne for the Security Expo and met with the team to discuss ways I could help with various projects they were working on as a freelancer. Fast forward two months and I had a contract in hand and was relocating from Brisbane to Melbourne, the challenge was on.

I joined the team as Project Lead, working on integrations for new products into the Environexus and Nero ranges and on solutions using our system to solve issues for our clients. One of my first projects is handling building and apartment access for an accommodation provider. Since joining I have already tested many new products (with one to be launching soon!) and started planning for two large projects, not to mention moved with everyone to our new office.

The journey to Environexus

One of my first jobs was working with clunky and expensive home automation products when only the wealthy could afford to add “smarts” to their homes, though calling them smart is generous! I loved what could be possible but I hated how inaccessible it was both for the cost and the skills required. There was no way the average person was going to be able to install these complex systems without highly (and expensive) skilled professionals to help.

I moved on to a role as technical support with Mobotix in 2007 when the company had just 3 products in their line up. Mobotix was one of the first companies to commit to IP for camera systems and built the first decentralised solution for that market. Because the cameras had so much intelligence built in we worked on projects from simple surveillance systems through to integrated industrial applications like auto stopping a production line if the camera counted too many objects in too little time before it led to a jam in the machinery.

During the 9 years I worked with the company I progressed through several roles, from technical marketing organising partner events, distributor marketing, and documentation and finally to Technical Project Engineer, spending my time creating solutions and working on integrations to some of the more daunting problems. It really opened my eyes to what was possible with a system that was suitable smart and self contained. As TPE I also ran our training in Australia and New Zealand, creating new courses and materials to present a cohesive and valuable session to our partners.

After Mobotix I spent a few years working various contracting gigs with the support of my trusty administration puppy, helping with product management, technical knowledge, and generally being a nerd on call for a variety of companies. That’s how I met Bill and Chris and the rest is history.

I’m pretty excited by the projects we are working on and the imminent introduction of the first product I have investigated and prepared, our new Nero Sentinel intercom (stay tuned to find out more soon!).

  • Chris Watt “Group Product Manager”

--

--

Environexus
Nero by Environexus

Environexus provides consumers with an ability to integrate lighting, energy management, security, communications and other functionalities into a unified home