The Twenty-Twenty Innovation Method

Frederik Goossens
Envoi Studios
8 min readMay 29, 2023

--

The 20x20 Innovation method is based on a matrix of Innovation Entities, such as markets, on one hand, and, Modifiers, such as combining, on the other hand.

Innovation Entities are categories that can be disrupted, changed, reversed, basically modified to create something new. An innovation. Some examples, and I will list all twenty of them, are industries, markets, locations, and so on. Whereas modifiers would take these categories and “mold” them into something new. For example, combining (=modifier) industries (=category).

The credibility of the Twenty-Twenty Innovation Method

Before I continue, I want to explain how I came up with and produced this framework as it’s based on academic textbooks, research, education, certifications, and real-life cases.

Education and Certifications

I studied Commercial Sciences at the University of Ghent as my undergraduate degree, where psychology and sociology were key parts of the program, and went on to obtain my graduate degree in Innovation and Entrepreneurship at Antwerp Management School. Later, after more than a decade, I received my Executive MBA from the University of Cambridge. Every year, there were courses about innovation, such as design thinking, as well as related courses…

--

--

Frederik Goossens
Envoi Studios

Multimodal Product Manager and Designer || Cambridge MBA || Over 13 Years of Experience