Envoy Spotlight: Kathryn Kelley, Best Buy Inc.

Margot Leong
The Envoy Blog
Published in
5 min readMar 8, 2016

At Envoy, we geek out over bringing more efficiency, security, and delight to your office. As such, we’re in awe of the people who work tirelessly, day in and day out, to ensure your offices are shipshape and your employees happy. We’re talking about operations gurus, office managers, front desk coordinators, and everything in between. We’re thrilled to feature these operations wizards and shine a spotlight on the marvelous work they do.

Kathryn Kelley, Office Manager at Best Buy Inc.

Meet Kathryn Kelley. She’s currently the Office Manager at Best Buy’s new Technology Development Center in Seattle. She has a Masters in Sustainable Marketing and prior to Best Buy, was an Office Manager at an environmental consulting firm in Denver. “I’m really happy here, especially because I wear so many hats,” she said. “Everyday is a new adventure.”

Tell us what a normal day is like for you.

There is no such thing as a “normal” here! Every day is different and brings exciting, new challenges which I love to tackle.

What do you enjoy the most about your role?

Because everyday is different, I have lots of variety and there is never the fear of getting bored. Sure, there are some tasks that I have to do day/week/month, but I also take on special projects, plan events, make decor decisions, etc.

My main “customers” are the people that work in the office, so I love finding new ways to support them and ensure they have a really comfortable and fun work environment. I keep them fed, caffeinated, supplied, and hopefully happy.

What are some things you’re most proud having achieved so far during your time there?

The space was under construction when I started, so when it was finally complete, it was shiny, new, and bright, but still just an empty shell. I have worked really hard to bring warmth and life to the office to make it a place that people love to come to work!

Signing up with Envoy was a big win for us, as the space wasn’t designed to have receptionist, so it’s been an easy and fun solution for both the employees and our guests.

I onboard new employees and do my best to ensure they feel welcomed and ready to start their careers with Best Buy. I also lead New Hire Orientation which has not only been a learning experience, but a lot of fun! Every time I lead a session, I am reminded why I work for this amazing organization and how lucky I am to have such a wonderful opportunity to be part of this company’s success story.

What are your superpowers?

I am able to establish relationships and rapport with just about anyone. I capitalize on that skill in order to solve problems in creative and efficient ways. I am also not afraid to make as many phone calls or emails as it takes to find the best resolution for all parties involved.

Tell me about the craziest day you’ve ever experienced as an office manager.

Every day is crazy! I seriously cannot pinpoint one single day that was the “craziest.” However, when I first started, the space was still under construction, so we were working out of a small temporary area that had been set aside while they were building out the rest of the office. The break room had no plumbing, there was only one toilet to share (which of course overflowed not on one, but several occasions!) and there was the constant din of construction (drilling, pounding, jackhammers) — all of this while we were interviewing candidates, having meetings with vendors, making phone calls and actually trying to get some work done!

What are the traits that you think you need to be successful in a similar type of role?

Flexibility is key. While it is important to have some structure and a plan on how you will accomplish goals and tasks, there will always be something that will interrupt your workflow. You can’t let those kinds of surprises derail you. I always try to plan ahead, but I know that I can’t plan for everything (I like to say that my crystal ball is broken) so I have learned to expect the unexpected.

How do you deal with obstacles that arise in your daily work?

First, take a breath. Next, smile (as genuinely as possible). Then, figure out the solution. Come up with a Plan B. (in some cases, Plan C, or even all the way to Plan Z). I don’t let those obstacles deter me from accomplishing the task at hand. There is always a way!

Office managers often have tips and tricks of the trade. Any you‘d like to share?

Be kind and polite to everyone you interact with, especially the building maintenance person, the security guards and the receiving dock handlers. Treat them as if they are your best friends. They will do you more favors than you rightfully deserve if you keep yourself in their good graces.

Also, handwritten thank you cards will get you everywhere.

What book has most influenced the way you think?

The Four Agreements by Don Miguel Ruiz:

This book has taught me four simple agreements that I have made with myself in order to bring love, happiness and success to my life. They are:

  1. Be Impeccable with Your Word
  2. Don’t Take Anything Personally
  3. Don’t Make Assumptions
  4. Always Do Your Best

Live by these basic principles and the world is your oyster!

Who are the mentors or people that you look up to in terms of the way they live their life, and why?

I have so many special and important people in my life, it’s hard to name just one. I try to be my most authentic self and look up to those who have integrity and respect for themselves. Also having a good sense of humour is always important too!

What do you love doing outside of work?

I plan the social events for my sorority’s local alumnae chapter (I am a Chi Omega!) which has been a really nice way to meet women with similar values.

I read a LOT: my goal is 50 books this year, which is about one per week! I am currently reading The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett while also reading The House Girl by Tara Conklin for my book club.

After work, I like to get together with my friends and play trivia or kickball. In the winter I ski and in the summer I try to go to at least one music festival. Recently, I’ve been to Coachella, Life is Beautiful, and Sasquatch.

Thanks for chatting with us, Kathryn! You can find her on LinkedIn. If you’d like to learn about more cool things that offices (and office managers) are doing, why not check out our podcast? Envoy Office Hacks features offices that are making their offices more productive, innovative and just plain fun. :)

--

--