Epic Women in Cyber — Jaspreet Kaur

Sonya Moisset
Epic Women in Cyber
3 min readJan 26, 2022

Myself (Jaspreet Kaur), a security professional as researcher, faculty, blogger as well as consultant. My working domains are blockchain security, network security, application security but eager to work on the rest of the cyber security area.

I have a various roles as guest lecturer at Sardar Patel University of Police, Security and Criminal Justice, Jodhpur (IN), phd scholar at Indian Institute of technology Jodhpur (IN), Blogger at William and Mary Blockchain Lab, Hackernoon, Medium, Cybrary.

I am also a member of various research communities such as N2women, ACM-W and many more. and wrote various articles in conferences and journals. I also got various academic awards and scholarships. I highly believe in exchanging ideas. If anyone wants to share your thoughts or need any help in cyber security then feel free to reach me. I am happy to help.

How did you get into the cybersecurity field?

I have been interested in the security field from my school time. Then after that in my BTech, i explored many technologies, finally completed my MTech and pursued my PhD in this field.

What are the main challenges in this field?

I think many people irrespective of age, irrespective of gender want to work in this field. But there is a problem of awareness.They in fact don’t know how to start, what will be their first step. In my opinion we have to conduct the awareness program from time to time at multiple locations for appropriate learning in this field.

What are the things you’ve learned being a woman in cybersecurity?

This question has very broad answers because I have learned alot and still I am learning a lot.

In fact, I want to say that cybersecurity is a field in which you have to learn continuously and never stop learning. This field actually gives me confidence, knowledge as well as capability to stand in front of people.

What advice would you give to women who would like to join the industry?

Just start, start from today itself and learn appropriately in the right direction. You should always be eager to learn, for this to communicate with security professionals, always keep your knowledge up to date and finally just believe in yourself.

Who are your role models?

There are many role models for me. But when we talk about cyber security, specifically a women role model in this field, then Vandana Verma is my role model.

If you could go back in time to your first days in the industry, what would you do differently or tell yourself?

Learn daily, keep you up to date with this technology, share and communicate your knowledge as much as you can.

If you are a founder or a member of a community for women in security, can you introduce it?

I am a member of various communities as N2Women Community Member, ACM-W Student Member, Blockchain Ladies Group Member, (Women in Technology International) WITI member, WISP Tandems, Global Women in Blockchain.

If you would like to be part of the list or this series, please reach out to me on Twitter or LinkedIn! :)

--

--

Sonya Moisset
Epic Women in Cyber

Senior Security 🥑 || GitHub 🌟 || ☁️ OpenUK Ambassador || 🎓 CAPSLOCK & CyberGirls Lead Mentor || 👩🏻‍💻 Epic Women in Cyber/Tech initiatives