Epic Women in Cyber — Tia Hopkins

Sonya Moisset
Epic Women in Cyber
5 min readFeb 8, 2021

Tia Hopkins is the VP of Global Solutions Architecture at eSentire. She holds two master’s degrees in security, a bachelor’s in information technology, and several industry certifications such as CISSP. She was recognized by SC Media as a 2019 Reboot Leadership Award recipient in the Outstanding Educator category, as well as The Software Report’s Top 25 Women Leaders in Cybersecurity and Cyber Defense Magazine’s Top 100 Women in Cybersecurity; both in 2020. Tia is also an adjunct professor of Cybersecurity at Yeshiva University and is currently pursuing her PhD in organizational leadership.

How did you get into the cybersecurity field?

I began my career as a DSL installer for the phone company. From there, I pivoted into IT as a generalist, which was great for me early on in my career because I was able to learn and do so many different things. Eventually, I decided I wanted to focus on a specific discipline and after some research on the job market, roles, trends, etc. cybersecurity stood out to me as the most sensible path, given my background in networking and general interest in security.

I’ve always been interested in technology and the way things work; even as a kid. Home labs were my go to for learning. I’ve built several home labs throughout my career and still have a 42u server rack full of servers, firewalls, routers, and switches in my home even today. Probably time to give that all up and replicate it in the cloud. :)

What are the main challenges in this field?

The top three challenges that stand out in my mind are lack of diversity, lack of representation, and misguided expectations or lack of guidance regarding what it takes to have a successful career in cybersecurity; or where to even start. On the note of diversity, we have to get better; and we have to get better end to end. It’s not enough to simply recruit from a diverse pool of professionals that already exist. We must also diversify the approach to driving interest in cybersecurity as a real career option. Whether based on age, gender, ethnicity, neurodiversity, disability, etc. we must do more to encourage individuals to pursue a career in this field.

In addition to this just being the right thing to do, the more diverse we are as an industry, the more diverse perspectives, approaches, and thought processes we have; which, ultimately, better positions us against adversaries. Representation is also critical. If I don’t see many people that look like me in a specific type of career, I’m less confident in my own ability to be successful.

Lastly, starting out or breaking into a career in cybersecurity is too confusing. There’s so much information available and so many different paths to take that someone brand new to the field may just walk away because they can’t figure it out. Also, the perception that one needs to be extremely technical or have tons of experience before even considering it as a career option can potentially turn viable candidates away as well. The perceived barrier to entry into the field is very high, so every opportunity I have to lower that barrier or help someone make sense of it all, I absolutely do.

What are the things you’ve learned being a woman in cybersecurity?

Being a woman in cybersecurity shouldn’t matter. As an industry, we have to get to a place where it doesn’t matter, and for me personally, it literally can’t matter; I won’t let it. Being a woman is not something I can control or change; nor do I want to. My gender literally has nothing to do with my ability to perform.

The reality, however, is that even though we’re getting better, many women still struggle to find their voice or their place in this field. This is not unique to cybersecurity; this is tech in general. From pay gaps, to lack of women in leadership and not having a seat at the table, to dealing with imposter syndrome and a long list of other things I could mention here, women continue to face challenges that should not exist. I choose to be unapologetically me, bring my whole self with me everywhere I go, and refuse to engage in any situation (professional or otherwise) where I am not valued.

What advice would you give to women who would like to join the industry?

Two words; do it. All you need is drive and passion. You have to want it, though. You can’t just be kind of, sort of interested in it, maybe. This is not the type of career where you get the education or certification, and that’s it; not if you want to be great. You have to work at it constantly. But if you want it, it’s absolutely possible and don’t anyone tell you anything different. Also, be specific. Do your research, know what you want to do, and know why you want to do it. This not only helps you set goals and plan your path, it helps others help you.

Who are your role models?

My role model will always and forever be my mother. She is the strongest woman I know. Her perseverance, the way she raised me to be a strong black woman, and the things she shielded me from as a child helped shape me into the woman I’ve become. The only way I know to repay that kind of love is to continue to make her proud every day.

If you could go back in time to your first days in the industry, what would you do differently or tell yourself?

One of the main things I would’ve done differently is network and find ways to stay close to what was going on in the industry. While I’m grateful for my career path, it likely would have saved me some time and headache if I’d had even a tiny bit of guidance early on. Instead, I spent the first 15+ years of my career doing things the hard way and figuring everything out on my own. I strongly believe it was meant for me to take the hard road. My experiences and struggles have enabled me to help others avoid making the same mistakes I made; which I’m extremely passionate about doing. That said, I do sometimes wonder where I would be at this point in my career if I’d had access to more resources, career guidance, or a mentor.

If you are a founder or a member of a community for women in security, can you introduce it?

In October of 2020, I founded Empow(H)er Cybersecurity, which is an organization focused on helping women of color new to or interested in cybersecurity as a career feel empowered and confident in their ability to succeed in the field.

It is a safe space for women to feel welcomed, supported, and just figure things out. The members are amazing and experience levels range from brand new to cybersecurity, to senior level cybersecurity executives. We share resources, stories, tips, and really enjoy having this safe space and learning from one another.

Links:

If you would like to be part of the list or this series, please reach out to me on Twitter or LinkedIn! :)

--

--

Sonya Moisset
Epic Women in Cyber

Senior Security 🥑 || GitHub 🌟 || ☁️ OpenUK Ambassador || 🎓 CAPSLOCK & CyberGirls Lead Mentor || 👩🏻‍💻 Epic Women in Cyber/Tech initiatives