Epic Women in Tech — Chiamaka Okenwa

Sonya Moisset
Epic Women in Tech
Published in
2 min readFeb 24, 2021

Chiamaka Okenwa is a software engineer with a demonstrated history of working in the fintech industry with a focus on product design and development. She is passionate about the developer communities in Africa and has served as a developer advocate for unStack Africa.

How did you get into the tech field?

My career path in tech wasn’t a traditional one. I became interested in programming during my final year as a Marine Biology student and I explored my interest by applying for the Google Africa Scholarship Program. That decision was life-changing because the scholarship program gave me access to a Udacity front-end web development course as well as practical experience building web apps.

After the program, I began to pursue software engineering internship opportunities which was difficult because of my non-CS background; I eventually made a breakthrough when I got into a highly competitive internship program at a prestigious Nigerian bank.

What are the main challenges in this field?

The two main challenges I struggled with was my educational background and also the lack of diversity in this field.

What are the things you’ve learned being a woman in tech?

Self-confidence and public speaking.

What advice would you give to women who would like to join the industry?

Do not be discouraged by the gender gap in this industry because we all have something to contribute.

Find a community to join because it helps you network with like-minded people.

Who are your role models?

Trisha Gee and Angie Jones

If you could go back in time to your first days in the industry, what would you do differently or tell yourself?

Find mentors because they can put you way ahead in your career

If you are a founder or a member of a community for women in tech, can you introduce it?

She Code Africa — A non-profit organisation focused on celebrating and empowering young girls and women in tech across Africa

https://www.shecodeafrica.org/

If you would like to be part of this series, please reach out to me on Twitter or LinkedIn! :)

--

--

Sonya Moisset
Epic Women in Tech

Senior Security 🥑 || GitHub 🌟 || ☁️ OpenUK Ambassador || 🎓 CAPSLOCK & CyberGirls Lead Mentor || 👩🏻‍💻 Epic Women in Cyber/Tech initiatives