Epic Women in Tech — Sjoukje Ijlstra

Sonya Moisset
Epic Women in Tech
Published in
4 min readFeb 16, 2021

Sjoukje is a full-stack software engineer based in Amsterdam. She is also a lead coding instructor, public speaker and multi award-winning gender diversity in tech advocate.

How did you get into the tech field?

I started enjoying learning about new technologies when I started teaching web development courses for Code First Girls at the start of my second year at the University of St Andrews in 2015. I had been looking for a community of students like me who were learning how to code and I loved the relaxed, creative and open learning environment that the CFG courses inspired. The following year I challenged myself to do more and was selected to be an international ambassador for Stanford University’s diversity and inclusion in tech initiative SHE++, which allowed me to lead a women in tech program of my design at my local school in St Andrews. I was really eager by the end of my third year to find out what a software engineer did from day to day so I completed a summer internship at a FinTech in Edinburgh which convinced me that tech was for me. I joined JP Morgan in 2018 as a full-stack software engineer through their diversity in tech bootcamp Tech Connect. I haven’t looked back since!

What are the main challenges in this field?

The biggest challenge I face in my career is the overwhelming choice of programming languages, skills, training, projects and opportunities — and which ones to choose and build on. As someone who did not come from a computer science degree, I’m taking this time to explore all that this industry has to offer, decide which projects are meaningful to me and find out where I can make the biggest impact. As I’m moving closer to my second full time role I think I’m getting closer to the answers to those questions.

What are the things you’ve learned being a woman in tech?

Community is everything. I have greatly benefited from joining women in tech networks to be able to interact with a huge number of women in the industry. Just because you might be the only woman in your team doesn’t mean that they aren’t out there somewhere!

What advice would you give to women who would like to join the industry?

My advice would be to find a mentor, a community, take time to learn about every area in tech and listen to different perspectives. At the start of your journey you’ll fall into a role that you’ll work in, and it’s important to stay curious and realise that there are many areas you could go into over the course of your career. You can learn about other areas of tech at internal events at your workplace or educational institute, like attending workshops and talks outside of your scope of expertise, but you can also attend external network events online.

Who are your role models?

There are so many! I consider myself very lucky to have crossed paths with a number of women who have changed the course of my life (probably without them even realising it). I appreciate the guidance that the lovely folks at Code First Girls have given me over the years, more specifically Amali de Alwis, Charlotte Fereday, Mary Chan, Kim Gray and Fiona Yelland. By encouraging me to reach higher, they help me navigate my career and develop new strengths.

Up in Scotland, I have looked up to Sharon Moore and Lynsey Campbell for several years. I admire their ambition, leadership and resilience but also their kindness and ability to lift everyone around them up. To witness their influence at a close proximity is a gift.

If you could go back in time to your first days in the industry, what would you do differently or tell yourself?

Everything always seems clearer in hindsight, but I would have advised my past self to take more breaks and have more fun outside of work especially during the bootcamp stage of my career. Working in tech means learning a huge amount every day therefore it’s important to prioritise your mental health and design the life you want to lead.

If you are a founder or a member of a community for women in tech, can you introduce it?

I have been a BCSWomen committee member for the past two years. We are a small group of volunteers and British Computer Society members who organise monthly women in tech events throughout the Scottish tech ecosystem. To keep up to date with our activities and network, follow us on Twitter, LinkedIn, Instagram or Facebook at @BCSWomen.

I have been a lead coding instructor for the Code First Girls community since 2015 and have helped over 320 women how to code with both Python and web development courses. This year I am teaching female professionals with the Career Switcher courses in Python. You can find out more about the CFG community, coding courses and events at www.codefirstgirls.org.uk.

If you would like to be part of this series, please reach out to me on Twitter or LinkedIn! :)

--

--

Sonya Moisset
Epic Women in Tech

Senior Security 🥑 || GitHub 🌟 || ☁️ OpenUK Ambassador || 🎓 CAPSLOCK & CyberGirls Lead Mentor || 👩🏻‍💻 Epic Women in Cyber/Tech initiatives