Pricing Plans FAQs

Dhaval Shah
epiphani
Published in
6 min readJul 30, 2021

NOTE: We will enforce number of boards, lifetime, and other feature related restrictions for Educator Free and Starter Plans only from Sep 15th!

Generic Questions:
How can I avail 10% referral bonus?
What is Student Auto-Engagement Feature? Is it available to all plans?
Do I have to subscribe to Educator (Free) Plan?
I am currently on Educator (Free) plan, with the changes above, how long do I have to select and save 10 of my boards?
How do you count 10 boards? Instructor + Students or only Instructor boards?
To extend life of my boards, do I need to refresh students boards as well?
How can I upgrade my plan?
Can I then downgrade my plan?

Educator (Free) Plan Related Questions:Note: This is the default plan for all new users of whiteboard.chat. You do not need to subscribe to this plan explicitly.
Will Students see ads on their boards?
What happens to my board after 7 days?
What if I have more than 10 boards?
What features are available in Educator (Free) Plan?

Starter Plan Related Questions:Note: This is our brand new, feature-rich, super cheap plan.
Will there be advertisements on teachers or students boards?
What features will be available in Starter Plan?
How many boards can I create?
What happens to my boards after 4 weeks?

Basic Plan Related Questions: Note: If you are a current subscriber to Basic Plan, nothing changes for you.
Can I only create 20 boards?
Can I choose the 20 boards I wish to save indefinitely?
Can I remove boards that I have saved indefinitely later?
What features are available to Basic Plan?

Gold Plan Related Questions: Note: If you are a current subscriber to Gold Plan, nothing changes for you.
How can I save all of my boards indefinitely?
What features are available to Gold Plan?

How can I avail 10% referral bonus?

As a teacher, if you help us sign your school or district to our school/district subscription plan, then you earn 10% of the contract amount towards referral bonus! Contact us at feedback@whiteboard.chat for details.

What is Student Auto-Engagement Feature? Is it available to all plans?

We measure and score student’s engagement based on the time they spent on the board, objects they engaged with, and what stickers were placed by teachers on their board etc. This score is visible under Grid View, on the top of each board. As an instructor you can view student’s engagement report and download it as well. We recently enhanced this feature further by automatically detecting which students need a nudge to engage more and place motivational stickers on their board.

This student auto-engagement feature as described above will only be available to our Basic and Gold plans.

Do I have to subscribe to Educator (Free) Plan?

Educator (Free) is the default plan that everyone gets when you subscribe with Whiteboard.Chat. If you do not wish to purchase a paid subscription plan, you do not need to do anything.

I am currently on Educator (Free) plan, with the changes above, how long do I have to select and save 10 of my boards?

We will enforce the plan specific features/boards/lifetime restrictions only starting Sep 15th, 2021.

So you have till then to decide if you would rather use the convenience and feature richness of paid subscription plans.

How do you count 10 boards? Instructor + Students or only Instructor boards?

Only instructor board is considered towards the quota of 10 boards. Students boards are not counted.

To extend life of my boards, do I need to refresh students boards as well?

No. Only instructor board requires refresh. Once refreshed, the new lifetime will be applicable to your entire class, i.e. all of your students boards.

How can I upgrade my plan?

At any time, visit https://www.whiteboard.chat/subs and select a plan that works for you. All of your boards will be transitioned to the new plan.

Can I then downgrade my plan?

Yes you can downgrade your plan by selecting the plan and following the process, or you can send us an email at feedback@whiteboard.chat and we will take care of it for you.

Educator (Free) Plan Related Questions:

NOTE: The feature/boards/lifetime restriction changes in Educator (Free) Plan will be enforced starting Sep 1st!

Will Students see ads on their boards?

No, we will never show advertisements to students of your class. Ads will only be shown on instructor boards.

What happens to my board after 7 days?

You can extend the life of your board by clicking on the “Refresh” icon for another 7 days. But otherwise your board will expire after 7 days and it will be deleted. Once deleted, we have no means to bring it back.

What if I have more than 10 boards?

With The Educator (Free) Plan, you can create 10 boards at any given time. You will have to delete boards to keep creating new boards.

What features are available in Educator (Free) Plan?

You can do everything except for the following:

  • You will not be able to send a copy of your board to your colleagues. To share, you can publish your board in the Community, and your colleagues can still make a copy of the board from Community Boards.
  • You can only invite students, but not a co-teacher to the board you have created.
  • No audio/video conferencing will be supported.
  • The student auto-engagement feature which comprise of student engagement score, report and automated placement of motivational and congratulatory stickers is also not available to the free plan.

Starter Plan Related Questions:

Will there be advertisements on teachers or students boards?

No, as part of The Starter Plan, you will have a completely ads-free experience.

What features will be available in Starter Plan?

You can do everything except for the following:

  • The student auto-engagement feature which comprise of student engagement score, report and automated placement of motivational and congratulatory stickers is also not available to the Starter Plan.

How many boards can I create?

As a part of The Starter Plan you can create an unlimited number of boards.

What happens to my boards after 4 weeks?

Each board you create has a default life of 4 weeks. You can manually refresh to extend the life of the board, but otherwise it will expire after 4 weeks and be deleted.

Basic Plan Related Questions:

NOTE:

If you are an existing subscriber of Basic Plan (Monthly or Annually), nothing changes for you.

Can I only create 20 boards?

No, you can create as many boards as you want. It is unlimited. However, as part The Basic Plan, you can save up to 20 boards indefinitely without any expiration date. Here is an article we have prepared that walks you through the process of selecting and saving your boards indefinitely.

Can I choose the 20 boards I wish to save indefinitely?

Yes, you can use “Manage Boards” to decide which of the 20 boards you wish to save indefinitely.

Can I remove boards that I have saved indefinitely later?

Yes, you have the full flexibility to include and remove any of your boards as one of the 20 boards saved indefinitely whenever you want. Just check/uncheck your boards at any given time under “Manage Boards” to save them without any expiry dates.

What features are available to Basic Plan?

As a basic plan subscriber you have access to all whiteboard.chat features. There are no restrictions.

Gold Plan Related Questions:

NOTE:

If you are an existing subscriber of Basic Plan (Monthly or Annually), nothing changes for you.

How can I save all of my boards indefinitely?

Here is an article we have prepared that walks you through step-by-step on how you can save all of your boards indefinitely as part of The Gold Plan.

What features are available to Gold Plan?

As a gold plan subscriber you have access to all whiteboard.chat features. There are no restrictions.

--

--