In the ‘Hot Seat’ with Hector Mason

Episode 1
Episode 1 Ventures
Published in
2 min readAug 22, 2019

--

He’s been with us a few months now so I thought it was about time we found out what he’s really thinking…

Find out all about our awesome Investment Associate here.

What’s your name and where are you from?

Hector and I’m originally from Suffolk.

Three words to describe yourself?

Curious, enthusiastic, perceptive

What has been your biggest success in your life so far?

Getting a job in VC at Episode 1. I’m not just saying that

What’s your biggest failure?

All failures are really successes. I’m joking, I’m not that noble. I think my biggest failure is not getting my on-demand student jobs business, Taskee, properly off the ground. Over the course of four years while at uni, I spent a huge amount of time getting the business ready for launch and really believed in the idea. My mistake was that I didn’t bother finding a technical co-founder, something the business really needed.

If you weren’t doing your job you do today, what would you do?

I’d probably be building a startup. But you can’t just decide to build a startup. You have to have an idea first, and I don’t have one, so there’s a good chance I’d be sat at my desk looking at an empty inbox. After a while of doing that, I’d decide it was time to get back to my roots and make something out of wood.

Who would be your mystery dinner guest (dead or alive) & why?

I’d like to meet Jesus to see what the hype’s about. Slightly more realistically, perhaps the Dalai Lama — I’m sure anyone could benefit from his wisdom and I reckon he’s got a good sense of humour too. Watch this video.

If you were to win the lottery what would be the FIRST thing you’d do?

I’m not ashamed to say I’d go on an almighty spending spree. I’m a car nut so central London car showrooms would be a primary target. Then houses, holidays and surprises for friends and family.

What’s your favourite book/blog/website to read?

Desert Island Discs. There are so many great episodes.

What’s the silliest thing you have ever done?

Going supermarket shopping dressed as band members of a Swedish rock band (not ABBA). We must have been easily amused back then.

What was the biggest ‘EUREKA’ moment in your life so far?

Realising in my first year at uni that you actually can ‘beat the bookies’. Bet365 kindly paid for almost my entire university experience. Naturally, I shared this trick with my housemates who also reaped the benefits.

If you were to die tomorrow, what advice would you leave to the world?

Laugh lots and hang out with people who believe in you and you believe in.

--

--

Episode 1
Episode 1 Ventures

We are a seed stage Venture Capital fund, investing in early stage software companies in the UK, passionate about the technologies and the ideas!