Epoch Eclipse
Published in

Epoch Eclipse

Of the 8 Limbs of Yoga, You are On Your Own for the Last 3

The Pratyahara technique of Yoga Nidra is the last guidance you will receive from your Yoga Guru.

Image by the author preparing for NFT drops. More on Instagram.

In the Hindu Ashtanga Yoga system, also called the eight-limbed path, the first five limbs serve as a foundation for meditation. Pratyahara, the fifth limb, is a Sanskrit word meaning “withdrawal of the senses”.

The eight limbs are Yama, Niyama, Asana, Pranayama, Pratyahara, Dharana, Dhyana, and Samadhi.

The first four limbs of Yoga, Yama (abstinences), Niyama (observances), Asana (yoga postures), and Pranayama (breath control) provide the necessary foundation for Pratyahara.

Yoga Nidra is an essential method of Pratyahara.

Yoga Nidra is a state of consciousness between waking and sleeping, typically induced by a Guru lead guided meditation.

Yoga Nidra practitioners may experience memory regression and lucid dreaming.

After Pratyahara is achieved, the last three limbs, Dharana (concentration), Dhyana (meditation), and Samadhi (absorption), are left up to the Yoga student to master on their own.

It is only at this stage of consciousness development that self-determinism and free will truly become possible. Until then one merely exists robotically driven by biological imprinting and dysfunctional psychology.

Timothy Leary was an established, accomplished, and respected clinical psychologist before he became famous for evangelizing methods for expanding consciousness and his eight-circuit model of consciousness based upon the Hindu yoga system.

  • In 1950, Timothy Leary received a Ph.D. in clinical psychology from the University of California, Berkeley.
  • He stayed on in the Bay Area as an assistant clinical professor of medical psychology at the University of California, San Francisco, and
  • concurrently co-founded Kaiser Hospital’s psychology department in Oakland, California.
  • From 1954 to 1958, he directed psychiatric research at the Kaiser Family Foundation.
  • In 1957, he published The Interpersonal Diagnosis of Personality. The Annual Review of Psychology exuberantly dubbed it the “most important book on psychotherapy of the year”.
  • In late 1959 he started as a lecturer in clinical psychology at Harvard University.
  • In August 1960, he traveled to Cuernavaca, Mexico, and consumed psilocybin mushrooms for the first time, an experience that drastically altered the course of his life.

Timothy Leary drew upon his conversations with a Hindu holy man at Millbrook from 1963 to 1967 to arrive at the eight-circuit model of consciousness.

Allen Ginsberg called Timothy Leary “a hero of American consciousness”.

The eight circuits of consciousness first appeared among the Hindus in the early first millennium and later reappeared amongst Sufi sects.

Tom Robbins called Timothy Leary a “brave neuronaut”.

Each of the eight circuits of consciousness corresponds to its own subjective experience of reality.

“turn on, tune in, drop out”

“set and setting”

“think for yourself and question authority”

— Timothy Leary

The eight-circuit consciousness model.

Timothy Leary presented the eight-circuit model of consciousness model in Info-Psychology, in 1989, expanding upon his earlier Exo-Psychology, published in 1977.

Robert Anton Wilson further developed Timothy Leary’s eight-circuit consciousness model.

Wilson’s 1983 workbook Prometheus Rising is an in-depth work documenting Leary’s eight-circuit model of consciousness. Wilson’s unproduced 1993 screenplay, Reality Is What You Can Get Away With, published as a book, uses, and explains the model.

Wilson reversed the order of two circuits in Prometheus Rising and described the neurogenetic circuit as the sixth circuit, and the metaprogramming circuit as the seventh circuit.

In Quantum Psychology, published later, Wilson reverted the order back to Leary’s original schema. Wilson wrote this book in E-Prime and it includes consciousness exercises at the end of each chapter.

E-Prime is a version of the English language that excludes all forms of the verb to be, including all conjugations, contractions, and archaic forms. Some scholars advocate using E-Prime as a device to clarify thinking and strengthen writing.

“We cannot solve our problems with the same thinking we used when we created them.” — Albert Einstein

Quantum Psychology is the book to read.

The first four Terrestrial Circuits from Quantum Psychology:

  1. Oral Bio-Survival Circuit
  2. Anal-Territorial Circuit
  3. Semantic Time-Binding Circuit
  4. Socio-Sexual Circuit

The later four Post-Terrestrial Circuits from Quantum Psychology are intended to develop as we migrate off this planet, colonize other planets, and concern the evolution of the human species as represented by altered states of consciousness, enlightenment, mystical experiences, psychedelic states of mind, and psychic abilities.

5. Neurosomatic Circuit

6. Metaprogramming Circuit

7. Morphogenetic Circuit

8. Non-Local Quantum Circuit

These later four Post-Terrestrial Circuits are what need to be developed to evolve consciousness and escape the doomed path of contemporary society.



Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store