The Journey Begins…

Jeffery Thompson Jr
Epoch Media
Published in
3 min readApr 23, 2020

Being an entrepreneur is not for the faint of heart. There will be late nights, sacrifices made with relationships, and lots of failures.

Speaking of failures, I’m here because I have failed and failed miserably.

I failed when I attempted a game startup back in 2016, we were accepted into the corelabs accelerator. I met and was mentored by several people in the game industry which included Jeff Burton and Tom Kalinski to name a few. That failure stuck with me and I kept going and pushing.

Grant it, we did not receive funding as part of the accelerator program, but receiving advice on demos, pitch decks, overall development timelines proved to be invaluable.

I then began working with various studios as a narrative designer which eventually brought me to Warsaw, Poland. During my time in Warsaw, I met various CEOs and game studios and thought and felt the local work culture differed with my morals.

What was done about it?

I doubled down and decided to branch off on my own. Now mind you, there are tons of cultural differences with the Polish and Americans. There was a point in which I had an investor agreement on the table, and when it was time to sign the paperwork, the investor failed to show up! Gladly so, after doing more research on that person and due diligence, it was a blessing in disguise.

The company I founded I named Epoch Media. Epoch media is a group of trans-media storytellers with interesting and intriguing projects with a focus on strong narratives and characters (We have grand ambitions but more on that in future posts). I joined forces with my friend, Jakub, that I played American football with (more on that in future posts). Recently, I added a game designer to the team that has serious knowledge and ambitions, Roger. Currently were developing our first video game together and a prequel comic book to go along with the game. Our first Project is titled: Pensions.

Not colored yet, but from the upcoming comicbook I am writing, Pensions: The Beginning.

In March of 2020, I met with an entrepreneur from Poland that runs an accelerator program, Borys Musielak. Borys has started and exited a company and now helps other entrepreneurs achieve their dreams while building an ecosystem on this side of the world. Essentially, he’s helping bridge Silicon Valley to Poland.

He mentioned to me about an accelerator program here: Reaktorx.

The Reaktorx Team

I applied and then got an interview with some amazing people, which included Gabriel, Dorota, and Agata Kwaśniewska. Eventually, Epoch Media got accepted into the program and has recently completed the first week. As things go further I love forward to improving our company pitch, project pitch, Demo Day, meetings with Agata, meetings with our lead mentor, and learning as much information as we can.

To be an entrepreneur is to find calmness in the chaos.

--

--