Everyday Community Designer for #inclusion and #equality: Eva Nip

Amelia Fong
Equal Space
Published in
2 min readAug 1, 2017

“I love St. Louis and it’s one of the first places where I truly understood how blatantly problems of inequity can manifest itself. In my pledge I very vaguely said ‘ensuring it is a space for everyone’ mostly because there are so many ‘how’ questions around the best way to do this there isn’t a single ‘right’ way. I really enjoy the word ‘space’ because for me that’s not just about physical space but social, economic, and political. I want to make sure that anyone that lives in St. Louis is able to live happily and comfortably, while being given all the opportunities and resources they need to thrive... I don’t want to paint my ideal city because that would be different from what someone else would want. An inclusive city is a city for everyone, even if their view of an ideal city is different from mine. I don’t really know what that looks like or if it’s even possible, but we can try hard.”

This summer Eva was our Program and Education Associate where she schooled the team on the 1,000 ways to incorporate Birkenstocks into your office attire while writing impactful grants and researching how to support Creative Reaction Lab’s expansion. Connect with Eva on LinkedIn.

If you’d like to be the next Everyday Community Designer, share your pledge with us here and we will be in touch for an interview.

--

--

Amelia Fong
Equal Space

Program and Education Associate @CreativeRxLab