Battling for Exams

Getting the grades, or getting the boot?

Ashley Wise
Equality, Freedom and Acceptance.

--

So, I’m writing this blog because I had turned up to my lesson today, and have found out that I have no teacher… Frustrating, I know. What was left was a mediocre set of “cover work” sheets, telling us “not to worry” and to enjoy our Easter Holidays… Cute, but personally a little worrying.

You see, The reason I have turned to writing this, is because that in less than six weeks time I will be re-sitting my A level History exam. I’m not re-sitting because I’ve done absolutely terribly, and need to find some sort of hope for myself academically in order to proceed to higher education, but rather because I want to better myself. I know that even though I received a good grade the first time round, my gap year between sitting my year 13 classes (A2 Level for those non-English educated folks reading this) has allowed me to reflect in what I can achieve if I put my heart and soul into it. It is for this reason of wanting to aim higher that I have dedicated myself to my education, and quite frankly worked my arse off.

However, what is sad is that you need to achieve a particular grade to continue in to the next year of school. A grade only achievable if your teacher will courteously give you the time to help you aim higher; (I mean, you’ve got to put the effort in too, but how will you know what is a good effort with ineffective teaching?). It is rather disconcerting that my sixth form and some of the teachers do not give adequate enough support, and quite literally leave you to fend for yourself academically. This just personally bodes the question, What do you do when your education establishment gives you a lack of support?

In order to combat this sadly frequent issue, I have myself been buying revision books, reading, writing, covering (and all of that self-testing malarkey) to try and speedily teach myself the content for the exam. Nonetheless, having a perfect memory isn’t everything when it comes to essay-based exams. It’s being able to manipulate the content in a manner that justifies the question (along with anxiously writing line after line of argument to try and persuade the examainer you know what you’re talking about and deserve the top mark). It’s really hard to self-teach when you struggle to understand how to structure your answers… and answering the question effectively with your own/course knowledge is essentialy the crux of exams nowadays.

You may be thinking, well, aren’t you wasting your time by coming on here to have a rant?

well, no. I’m using my writing today as an escape from the stress and duress of an academic environment which only focuses on the statistical value of grades, rather than the gratis effort of a student to who wishes to prosper in order to fulfil their life dreams.

I don’t mean to sound polemical about the education system as a whole (although some things do require improvement, there’s no denying that), It’s just a matter of personal concern to the fact exam season is imminent and the absence of teachers poses as a very worrying aspect to sixth form life— especially when your days left until study leave are numbered.

Having said all of this, you have to give it to teachers; they plan for days on end how they are going to teach you, and do take the time to ensure you have adequate knowledge for forthcoming exams, allowing you to work to the best of your ability.

It’s just that I feel when teachers don’t set much work as well as for you, as well as teachers being regularly absent during a critical period in your education where you have very little time left is disheartening for the majority who struggle with the topics. To proceed to the next year; you literally need to get the grades, or you get the boot.

--

--

Ashley Wise
Equality, Freedom and Acceptance.

Hello, I’m Ashley. I’m a 23 year old Geography student from the University of East Anglia, who has a creative passion for writing. I hope you enjoy reading!