An Independent Voting for Kamala

We need a president who can balance smart policy with compassion.

Jeffrey Kass
Equality Includes You
6 min readAug 21, 2024

--

man mowing his lawn in a lower middle class neighborhood
Image: Shutterstock/AI-Generated

Because I advocate for racial justice and I primarily write about race and ethnicity, people often assume I must be a card-carrying Democrat.

But other than the last local election in Denver, where the primary essentially decided the winner, and I had to register as a Democrat if I wanted to vote for some important local candidates, I’ve been a registered independent since 1990.

My views on a wide range of topics aren’t monolithic.

While I think Republicans typically haven’t acknowledged the depth and breadth of our racial issues, and more recently reject them outright, many Democratic Party race-related policies and plans haven’t worked and, in some cases, even harmed people.

So, in any “normal” election (with no weird in the mix), I would weigh my most important and personal political issues and stack them against the candidates’ positions.

Over the years, that has sometimes meant making the hard choice between one candidate who may be better on one issue but worse on another issue that’s important to me.

As a result, I’ve voted for a mix of Democrats and Republicans for the last 30 years in local, state, House, Senate and…

--

--

Jeffrey Kass
Equality Includes You

A Medium Top Writer on Racism, Diversity, Education, History and Parenting | Speaker | Award-Winning Author | Latest Book: Black Batwoman V. White Jesus | Dad