Don’t Be a Karen

There’s so much more to be pissed about.

The Good Men Project
Equality Includes You

--

Photo credit: Unsplash

By Jeff Cann

Maybe you’ve seen the meme. A photo shows a peanut butter and jelly sandwich cut poorly on the diagonal. The left ‘half’ is about sixty percent larger than the right. The caption: Serve this to your OCD friend.

It’s not really funny at all. There’s nothing clever about it. It breaks no new ground. It’s a joke that’s been circulating since the dawn of the web, since Jack Nicholson starred in his OCD film As Good as It Gets twenty-five years ago.

Psychotic Delusions, a Facebook humor page I follow, has posted it twice in the past couple of years. Everyone comments:

“Oh, that would drive me nuts, I must have OCD.”

“I’m so OCD, I wouldn’t even touch that sandwich.”

“You should see how I organize my shoes, LOL.”

I commented too: OCD is a debilitating condition, not a punchline. This is like laughing at a cancer patient’s bald head.

Someone named Bruce responded: Are you serious? OCD vs Cancer, really?

Donna Jean jumped into the fray: My older sister has OCD. It claimed her mind 45 years ago. She is practically homeless. Bladder cancer devastated my husband for the last 5 years of our 46 year marriage. I’ve been

--

--

The Good Men Project
Equality Includes You

We're having a conversation about the changing roles of men in the 21st century. Main site is https://goodmenproject.com Email us info@goodmenproject.com