I Want a Better World for My Daughter, How Can I Convince Other Men to Care?

Ask an Ally: Why it shouldn’t take fatherhood to make men care about gender equality.

The Good Men Project
Equality Includes You

--

Photo credit: Shutterstock

By Lawler Kang

This is a series of posts designed to help people approach diversity and inclusion. These are questions and scenarios we’ve actually heard or seen in the wild. This is part of our corporate programming for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion. For more information, click here.

Question: I became an ally and started learning about this stuff because I want the world to be better for my daughter. Now there are feminists telling me that I shouldn’t have to become a father to want to be a feminist. I don’t know what to say to that. I bring up this stuff around my fraternity brothers — guys I really care about, and they just shrug their shoulders. Like, they know sexism sucks, but they’re not going to do anything about it. How do I get them engaged when they seem so apathetic?

Answer: Thank you, very much, for these questions! They go to the heart and soul of what, in my humblest opinion, needs to change.

First, although those words may have been hard for you to hear, women who have suffered their entire lives because of the patriarchy are coming from a place of…

--

--

The Good Men Project
Equality Includes You

We're having a conversation about the changing roles of men in the 21st century. Main site is https://goodmenproject.com Email us info@goodmenproject.com