I Will Always Stand on the Side of Love

being a walking billboard for my values.

The Good Men Project
Equality Includes You

--

Photo credit: Author

By Edie Weinstein

Photo credit: Author

Listening to the Beatles classic Golden Slumbers (“and in the end, the love you take is equal to the love you make.”) as I am writing this piece. I am a tree hugging, crunchy granola hippie who was too young to attend Woodstock, but carry the spirit in my heart. My wardrobe is colorful, as is my hair. These days, I sport purple locks that are almost as long as they were in my 20s. I wear my heart on my sleeve and often on my clothing. The shirt I am wearing in this photo came from author, minister, and commentator of all things at the intersection of spirituality and social justice, John Pavlovitz. That’s the corner where I hang out too, sharing what I have learned and the depths of what I feel about the world around us and the absolute necessity to show up, stand up and speak out when we see injustice anywhere.

It would be so easy to say, “Well, my life is going pretty well. I have all that I need, so why should I worry about anyone else?” It’s not in my genetic makeup or what I was taught as I was growing up. Although my father quoted the bible verse, “Charity begins at…

--

--

The Good Men Project
Equality Includes You

We're having a conversation about the changing roles of men in the 21st century. Main site is https://goodmenproject.com Email us info@goodmenproject.com