Where Are the Strong and Who Are the Trusted?

As we walk through troubled times…

The Good Men Project
Equality Includes You

--

Photo credit: Screenshot from video

By Edie Weinstein

In the wake of the insurrectionist assault on the Capitol building on January 6th, another ‘day that will live in infamy’ and have a ripple effect on the future of this country, a line from one of my favorite songs has been running through my brain. Nick Lowe penned the song, “What’s So Funny Bout Peace, Love and Understanding?” More than an idealistic hippie-esque ode, it speaks both to the dismay and hope I feel when I consider where we are as a nation divided by gender, race, culture, sexual orientation, religion, and socio-economic background. Those are the artificial designations. In my mind, the divisions are about how we THINK about them. Are we in favor of peace and social justice, or do we want to limit people’s rights because we view ourselves as superior to those who look, love, worship, and celebrate life differently?

The lyrics:

As I walk through
This wicked world
Searchin’ for light in the darkness of insanity
I ask myself
Is all hope lost?
Is there only pain and hatred, and misery?

--

--

The Good Men Project
Equality Includes You

We're having a conversation about the changing roles of men in the 21st century. Main site is https://goodmenproject.com Email us info@goodmenproject.com