Why I Brought My Six-Year Old to a Minneapolis Protest

My son reminds us — and the world — that George Floyd’s life matters.

L Burrell
Equality Includes You
5 min readAug 7, 2020

--

Photo Courtesy of the Author

On May 25, 2020, the world witnessed a public lynching when officer Derek Chauvin decided to be the judge and jury and kept his knee on George Floyd’s neck for 8 minutes and 46 seconds. 8 long minutes of Mr. Floyd’s pleading for breath and calling for his mother and Chauvin’s outright disregard for life! Sure we have all heard about police brutality and other injustices, but why was this time different? Why did we do more than just add George Floyd’s name to the long list of victims? Perhaps it’s because we got to see this murder in real-time. We did not witness this murder via a seedy dash or surveillance camera. It was not the rattling of a moving body camera. Instead, we looked the killer in his eyes as he methodically, without flinching, stole a life. He did not break a sweat as he calmly kept his hand in his pocket, looked at the camera, and moved his knee back and forward. Intentionally and calculated, he quietly brought us back to pre-Civil Rights Act in the matter of seconds.

Coupled with that, the world was watching because we had time. Already inside escaping the risk of COVID-19, we all were watching. But soon enough, the world was willing to risk it all to stand for something and took to the streets in protest all around the world! I live in downtown Minneapolis. There was no such thing as ignoring the uproar. From the inside of our home, we could hear chants… “George Floyd, George Floyd”. My six-year old son, innocent, smart, and black, said “Mommy who is Geeeeeeorge Flooooooyd?” as he mimicked the chants. What do I tell him? We turned on the news and as much as I wanted to cover his eyes, he could see the crowds and protest on every news outlet. Do I turn it off? Protect his eyes? Protect what little presumed innocence he has left?

We decided to take a ride the day after the police precinct was burned to the ground to see the aftermath. My son, with his new sharp reading abilities asked, what is “FUCK12” and why does that sign say “stop killing black people”? His innocent world did not even recognize “FUCK” as profanity. Have we sheltered him that much? How long can we shelter and protect him? At what age does my cute little boy begin to be viewed as a threat to society? When will he be seen as a dangerous black man? What do you tell a six-year old in a time like this? An innocent six-year old!

On May 31, 2020, a protest was organized at US Bank Stadium. After a brief program, attendees were then scheduled to walk to the I-35W bridge, the same bridge that was rebuilt after collapsing in 2007! My husband suggested bringing our son to the protest! He assured me that they would mask up, keep their distance, and not march after the program. Without hesitation, I replied “absolutely NOT”! He replied: “We can’t shield him forever”. “He needs to see it!” “I know he is your baby, but you can’t protect him forever!” With emotions running high, I thought of a photo I recently saw of a lynching from the late 1950s. As the “strange fruit” hung from the tree, you could see a little girl likely six or seven in attendance, with a smirk on her face watching this black body be lynched. What stuck with me was, why did they have that child at that lynching? I don’t want to compare a lynching to a protest, but deep down inside was I worried that someone would say “why do they have this child at this protest?”

What was I afraid of? Was it really the judgment of others? The COVID-19 risk? I was then reminded of some of George Floyd’s final words…MOMMA… this grown man called for his Mother! In tears, I knew I could not continue to avoid the discussions. I knew that in my eyes, he would always be my baby and always look to me for protection. I knew it was my job to educate my child! After heart-tugging, I elected to let him attend! But, still being the protective Momma bear, I decided that he could only go if I also attended.

As we walked to the protest, a mere five blocks from our home, my son had question after question. On the walk, for the first time, I explained to him that Mr. Floyd was killed. I explained to him why everyone was angry! I explained why it was not ok! In my ideal world, we would have been ramping up for a summer vacation… talking about an amusement park or summer sports! Anything, except this! Yet, there we were!

So why did we take him? Because he needs to know history… he needs to know current events… he needs to be aware… he needs to know his value… and he needs to know how to protect himself. I thought I had another five years at best before having to have “The Talk” with him, but current events and our location dictated otherwise. The time is now! He is smart and capable of understanding! At the protest, I watched his eyes as he saw the crowd gather. He read every sign, joined in with the chants, and asked questions! On the walk home, he made the connection to Martin Luther King Jr., Rosa Parks, the Civil Rights Movement and the present-day attendees! He said, “Mommy I would never hurt anyone”! His response gave me chills! My six-year old was aware that his attendance was him standing for something!

In the days to come, we visited the crime scene, now mural and memorial site. As we walked around downtown, we saw other Floyd inspired art. What was common… every single time, my son stopped and asked to take his photo in front of the art! My son reminded us that George Floyd’s life mattered. In those moments, my son gave me hope. Hope that tomorrow will be a better world for all of our children. Hope that one day my little boy will be judged by the content of his character and not by the color of his skin! Yes, almost sixty years later, my dream for my children is the same dream that Martin Luther King Jr. had for his children.

Fast forward I was reminded about how much history is not taught in schools. In fifty years will this moment make it to history books? If not, my son certainly will be a suitable historian.

So why did I take him? My response is Why would I NOT have taken him?

Photo Courtesy of the Author

--

--