Why I Love To Do “Manly” Things

If you are a ‘girly girl’ or ‘manly man’, more power to you, but no one has to be only one way or the other.

Christyl Rivers, Phd.
Equality Includes You

--

Photo by Abby Savage on Unsplash

Do manly stuff

I love chopping wood. I hate our wood pellet stove because it does not allow my husband and I to chop wood. Instead, we have to burn CO2, haul plastic bags of pellets around, and stay out of the woods where we used to gather downed wood.

I am slowing down, but I used to love climbing mountains. These are high-elevation mountains called “fourteeners,” that is to say, mountains that require gear and used to have glaciers before the planet heated up.

I loved science fiction, and most other fans were male when I joined up.

When I was a climber, there were few other women.

The same thing was true when I did logging jobs. Or with explosives.

I love hammering. Sawing. Repairing things. Working in the yard. Repairing a plumbing issue is a particular accomplishment. One of my closest friends growing up, another woman, was a journeyman carpenter, and another owned a tree surgeon company. Sue, a cousin, was a truck driver.

Masculinity is simply magnificent

--

--

Christyl Rivers, Phd.
Equality Includes You

Ecopsychologist, Writer, Farmer, Defender of reality, and Cat Castle Custodian.