WHAT ARE YOUR PLANS FOR FEBRUARY 14TH?

Falodun Daniel
Law Students’ Blog
6 min readFeb 8, 2022

The flower shops have gone dry. In some few days to come, someone, somewhere paying for the indiscretion of a late order would say this in disgust.

My itinerary is filled up. I’m so sorry. One super excited saxophonist who’s about to have the busiest day of the year will soon blurt this out breathlessly.

It’s going to be a deadly day.

Redness in its unending luster is about to fill the atmosphere, leaving us to wheeze in its upshot of youthful romance, elaborate sacrifices, clandestine journeys to dark corners, and not to forget the red-hot tears. Breakfast — perhaps, the true “national cake” — will touch so many people before V-day. And someone who is happily “taken” today, may on the 14th, be that inconsolable individual whose sobs are heightened by every sight of couples in matching red outfits. Don’t look at me, I don’t make the rules.

“E go touch everybody”.

What does Valentine’s day mean to you? A regular day? A day to restate your declaration of affection to the one you love? A day to give to loved ones? Or schmaltzy love songs playing in the background, with your hands firmly positioned on the curvy hips of the love of your life? One thing I know for sure is that while others will be scurrying around in pursuit of the worldly, I, and other cross-bearers like me, will be in realms outside the mundane, speaking in unknown tongues, in the worship of my Lord Jesus Christ.

Please, please I don’t have time for this

While some would have their hearts filled with passion, devotion, and a tableau of love languages stolen from the very spring of romance. For others, it’s just another Monday with the merciless alarm set to wreak deafening ruin to a sweet Monday morning sleep.

It’s Monday Morning and you’re still sleeping. What’re you doing with your life?

So let’s see what people have to say about their plans for February 14. Before that, let me let you in on the rocky paths in my quest for cohabitation.

Folashade pepper* showing me pepper

If you don’t know what she did, this is the subtle art of giving an L. Told her I’m free and the narrative morphed. But I’m ok guys. Aimoye shenking but no loose guarding.

A flash into their minds

Dami, Year 4:

Valentine falls on a Monday. I don’t have plans for that day… YET. Yes, I would attend classes, normal thing. Also, before that day, I would be attending the movie night organized by the LSS Social Committee. I will definitely be at the movies. Definitely. That should be a good enough way to gather momentum prior to Feb. 14.

Meedah, Year 2:

I go dey Cons law class. It’s a Monday. Although a friend asked me out to dinner, I’m really not sure about it. I don’t think I would go. I’m basically going to be posting memes throughout the day. It’s really a day for memes. Relationship people go hear am. I have to tension them. They can’t have all the fun. And I’d basically be observing everything that goes on that day.

Meedah on the 14th

Utty, Year 4:

I’m going to be attending the Valentine program by Gani Chambers. Well, I have not actually made any serious plans about my calendar on the 14th. I’d definitely be in the faculty that day. But if I do go out, it’d be on a date with my unearthly beauty. I call her my “sleepyhead”. Her name is Enitan. After my time in the faculty, she owns the rest of my day.

Stephanie, Year 2:

I don’t kuku have man, so if I get Val, I have to show workings. I’d attend classes that day and engage in some detective work. Since I’m going to be alone, I will put the day’s activities under scrutiny.

Stephanie, causing upheaval on the 14th

Kelechi, Year 5:

My course for that day is subject to the charting of my babe. For me to know how I’d spend my day on the 14th, I need to have a talk with my baby about it. We haven’t discussed it yet, but I figure we’d go to the movies that day because she loves movies. We would definitely go and eat, then go to the spa. When all is said and done, we’d find a place to crash and probably play a football match. I know many people don’t know about this special type of football. But I do. I’m so overwhelmingly consumed with so much knowledge — five years in the faculty of law really hammers you into something.

Rasaq, Year 5:

Nothing much happening on the 14th. It’s going to be a Monday. But I’m heavy on gifting, so I would spend all day giving and receiving gifts from friends.

Razaq and his guys on the 14th

Subomi & Clement, Year 2

Guy, we don’t have any plans for this Valentine o. We go just go class. No looking back or to the sides. In fact, having plans for Valentine doesn’t exactly fit into our sapa-defeating tactics. We go just dey. In fact, it won’t be well for Valentine. Everybody in relationships should get out. Their daddies!

Subomi and Clement few days to the 14th

Benita, Year 4.

I’m sitting right here waiting for a prince charming to sweep me off my feet. And if not… I’d be in the class or library. In the night, I’d sleep. Sounds like a good plan to me.

A message to Benita

Blessing, Year 1

I would probably be writing my GST tests on Monday. If it isn’t postponed or something, of course. Hmmm, what comes next? Netflix and Chill, maybe. There would also be pizzas. And lots of drinks.

Teejay, Year 3

This is a multi-million-dollar question. Okay, let me break it down in order of sequence. It’s going to be a three-tiered eventful day. Here are the activities lined up. In the morning, I would be in school. Two of my women will enjoy my graceful presence here. I’m spending two hours with each. In the afternoon, one woman will already be at home cooking. I would leave her to cook. Then when I get back later, we’d spend some time together before she leaves. Another will come to eat with me, I have immensely brandished my superior culinary skills to her. She would then leave in the night, paving the way for my queen… my pulchritude… the ultimate Madam who will be my warmth on this red night.

How Teejay will feel on the 14th. Future dey jot things down

Zainab, Year 5

No plans at all for Feb. 14. I don’t know if people are gradually losing the sense of occasion attached to Valentine or because it falls on a Monday, nobody seems to be making any moves. All my female friends unexpectedly do not have any plans. I don’t know why. But for me, it honestly doesn’t freak me. Maybe because I’m not usually around people who are big on Valentine’s Day. I don’t just feel it. I can’t seem to grasp why people dedicate one particular day to show extra love. What about the other days? It seems a little bit unfair to me. But if I’m offered gifts, I go collect sha.

Zainab on the 14th receiving “happy Valentine” wishes instead of gifts

--

--