City Experience through my eyes

Kaloudasthanos
Erasmus Plus
Published in
3 min readAug 16, 2024

Diversity and Inclusion for All

Traveling to Dublin as part of the Erasmus+ program was an adventure filled with both surprises and unforgettable moments. Stepping outside of Europe for the first time, I was excited to explore a new country and immerse myself in its culture. However, the trip didn’t unfold exactly as I had anticipated, and that’s part of what made it so memorable.

One of the first surprises was the weather. Expecting a mild climate, I packed mostly summer clothes, only to be greeted by rain and cooler temperatures than I had imagined. This unexpected twist added a layer of challenge to the trip, but it also pushed me to adapt and embrace the experience in a way I hadn’t planned.

Dublin itself is a city that feels like a beautiful blend of history and modern life. The old, cobbled streets and historic red brick buildings give it a unique charm that’s hard to find elsewhere. Everywhere you look, there’s something interesting to see, whether it’s an ancient landmark or a modern piece of street or architectural art. The city’s beauty is amplified by the lush greenery that seems to be everywhere, offering a refreshing contrast to the urban environment.

Despite its beauty, Dublin wasn’t without its flaws. As expected of a capital city, it was crowded and, at times, a bit dirty. The hustle and bustle of city life were apparent, but that’s what you would anticipate in such a busy place. What caught me off guard was how expensive everything was. From food to basic necessities, the prices were higher than I expected, which was a bit of a downside.

Speaking of food, the lack of variety was another surprise. I was hoping to explore diverse culinary experiences, but the options were somewhat limited. However, what the city lacked in culinary diversity, it made up for in other areas. For instance, I had the chance to learn about Irish whiskey, which was fascinating. The history and craftsmanship that goes into making it added depth to my understanding of Irish culture.

Navigating Dublin was made easier by its efficient transportation system. Getting around was straightforward, and it allowed me to explore different parts of the city without much hassle. Each walk through the city felt like a mini-adventure, with new sights and experiences at every corner.

Overall, this trip to Dublin was a blend of highs and lows, but it’s those very contrasts that made the experience so enriching. I learned to appreciate the unexpected, adapt to new situations, and find beauty in places I didn’t expect. This journey wasn’t just about visiting a new country; it was about personal growth and learning to embrace the world with an open mind.

Kaloudas Thanos

--

--