Experiencing a new lifestyle in Denmark

Giannis Tsiroudas
Erasmus Plus
Published in
2 min readOct 22, 2023

Participating in the “A Mental Health Toolkit for Youth Workers” Erasmus+ project gave me the chance to visit Denmark, meet new people and experience a completely different lifestyle! Getting to Ananda Gaorii was easy, as it is only a 3 hour flight from Thessaloniki to Copenhagen and then 1.5 hours from Copenhagen to Vig by train where the ashram is located. Asking for directions in Denmark was also not a problem, as everyone there speaks English and is happy to help you with everything you need.

Staying in Ananda was a truly unforgettable experience! The people who lived in the ashram were very hospitable and friendly, which made me feel very comfortable there. The food was vegetarian, and for the first time in my life, I tried the Sattvic Diet. Even though it was different compared to the Mediterranean cuisine in Greece, I have to say that it was great! What I loved about my stay there, is that we had the opportunity to try yoga and meditation, and learn the benefits that they provide. In addition, we learned a lot about mental health disorders and how to identify and help someone who is dealing with one. We also had the chance to explore the countryside of Denmark, visiting both a forest and the beach near Vig, which helped us boost our mental health and see the beautiful countryside of the country. My overall experience in Denmark was amazing and I would love to go back someday!

--

--