Once-in-a-lifetime experience in… Samobor, Croatia.

Μανος Κατζαγιαννακης
Erasmus Plus
Published in
2 min readMay 10, 2024

When I arrived in Zagreb for my Erasmus program, I had the chance to spend a few hours exploring the city before heading to Samobor. The bustling streets, adorned with historic architecture, created a charming atmosphere that felt both lively and welcoming. Exploring the city’s cultural sites, like the Museum of Broken Relationships, provided me with a deeper understanding of Croatian history and identity.

Venturing beyond Zagreb, I found myself enchanted by the quaint town of Samobor. Surrounded by lush greenery, Samobor offered a serene escape from city life. The abundance of nature provided ample opportunities for outdoor activities, from leisurely walks along the riverbank to invigorating hikes leading to panoramic views from the castle. It was a refreshing retreat, where I could immerse myself in the beauty of Croatia’s landscapes.

Overall, my time in Croatia, particularly in Samobor and Zagreb, left a lasting impression on me. From the vibrant city streets to the tranquil countryside, I discovered a diverse range of experiences that enriched my Erasmus journey. Croatia’s unique blend of culture, history, and natural beauty made it a truly unforgettable destination for study and exploration.

I can tell that Greeks and Croatians have a lot in common. They like dancing, similar food, and people who want to have fun. The people that we met there were so happy to meet us and so friendly to us. They made me feel at home. Joining an Erasmus+ project helps you to create such strong bonds in such a short time, for example, only a week. Take a chance to try a project, and I'm sure that you won't regret it and it won't be your last project!

--

--