“Foodie Calls”: When Women Go on Dates With Men Just for a Free Meal

I regret letting men pay for my dinner when I wasn’t romantically interested in them.

Elle Silver
In Vain Asylum

--

Created by senivpetro — www.freepik.com

Back when I first discovered online dating, after a long period of being single, I decided to enjoy myself and go out on dates with a lot of men. Every single morning, I would open my inbox to find it stuffed with emails from potential suitors.

No, I didn’t like most of these guys. They weren’t right for me.

Still, I assented to go on dates with them. Why?

I was coming out of an era of feeling very alone. It was exciting to have all these men interested in me. And so I went out on dates with tons of them, even if I wasn’t romantically interested in the vast majority of these guys.

I ate a lot of free meals as a result. Some people would say this is unethical. There’s an expectation in our society that men should always pay for dates. At least on the first date, he should pay.

A survey conducted by Money.com and SurveyMonkey found that 78% of both male and female respondents believed that men should foot the bill on the first date.

So is it fair for a woman to go out on a date with a guy if she has no desire to even date him seriously?

--

--

Elle Silver
In Vain Asylum

L.A.-based writer. It's all about ME! Reluctant health advocate. Self-proclaimed relationship expert. Please, don't take my advice.