5 Hours with a Feature Phone

Eli Rosen
erosen
Published in
2 min readApr 9, 2021

It’s been about five hours since I replaced my iPhone XS Max with a Nokia “feature phone” and I wanted to share a couple of my initial observations and things that surprised me.

Surprises about the phone:

  • I’m happy that the phone I bought supports WhatsApp. However, I didnt realize a couple things about making the transisiton.
    (i) The history of previous messages inside existing groups does not carry over to the new phone. I was expecting to pick up where I left off on my iPhone but that was not the case.
    All of my groups appeared on the Nokia, but all of the conversations are empty :(
    (ii) WhatsApp can only work on one phone at a time. I sort of assumed that if I needed to I could pick up my iPhone when needed and seamlessly pickup the conversation from there without interruptions. But that is not the case. Once I activated Whatsapp on the Nokia, WhatsApp on my iPhone was not usable
  • Not syncing contacts is a pain, but I’m also managing just fine so far. I think I’m going to have to figure out how to load my contacts onto an SD card
  • I just learned that group messages apparently do not work on the Nokia. I have not seen this happen yet first hand but it was an accidental discovery while I was doing some googling to try and figure out how to sync my contacts
  • Typing on keys is not as slow as I thought, but my messages are definitely shorter
  • I’m checking my phone for messages but since I have to pick up the phone, unlock it, open the messages app, I probably wont be doing this too often

Surprises about my behavior

  • I knew that I was constantly reaching for my phone, but I dont even think I realized the extent of it.
    Tonight after dinner I found myself wanting to reach for my phone and had brief moment of panic when I had to find something else to do.
    And when my kids were getting to be too loud and overwhelming before bedtime I found myself wanting to distract myself with my phone away from them, but I was not able. I just cleaned up dinner instead.
  • My trips to the bathroom are shorter
  • Everyone I’ve told that I’m doing this has had the same reaction, “Oh that sounds awesome — I really need to do something like that”

--

--