From Machine Learning to Biomedicine: a Journey in Code

Alacia Armstrong
ersiliaio
Published in
4 min readOct 6, 2023

--

Interview with Ankur Kumar

You were recently awarded a Computational Associate position at Broad, despite not having a Ph.D. This is quite a remarkable achievement — tell us more about this experience?

The Broad fellowship provided a unique opportunity for someone like me, who didn’t hold a Ph.D. but possessed a diverse skill set and a passion for scientific exploration. Having had multiple internships in science labs previously, and teaching myself various skills, I acquired the ability to frame scientific problems, develop hypotheses, and design and conduct studies. This experience, coupled with my background in drug discovery and engineering, made it possible to secure this position without a Ph.D.

Can you tell us about how your journey into science began?

My journey into the field of science has been unconventional, shaped by a series of decisions and hard work. From a young age, I had a strong interest in science and a thirst for knowledge. One particular experience stands out in my memory — when I started a project to assess the impact of fly ash, a byproduct of coal burning, on plant growth. This project introduced me to the scientific method, teaching me how to design experiments, make observations, and draw conclusions. Through this project, I had the opportunity to interact with scientists at the national level during a science fair, which was a great learning experience and exposed me to the inner workings of science.

From high school to Undergrad — what was this experience like?

During my time as a student, I co-founded a startup with friends who possessed technical skills and an interest in making a difference (whilst earning some extra money). Inspired by the success stories of Bill Gates and Steve Jobs, we approached local businesses, trying to understand their challenges and offering digital solutions to streamline their processes. Although we were often met with skepticism due to our young age, some businesses embraced our ideas, and we successfully digitized many manual processes, providing them with valuable insights. This entrepreneurial venture not only helped me pay for my college tuition but also honed my skills in management, technical expertise, and communication. At the same time, I pursued internships in academic labs, further fueling my interest in biology. I was fortunate enough to secure an internship at the University of Cambridge, which later offered me a position after completing my B.Tech. This was my first true experience working in a lab, and it opened my eyes to a different world. I discovered the joy of being paid to do something I love, where I had the freedom to pursue my projects, study, and grow intellectually. The working culture was supportive and fostered an environment of exploration and independence.

Do you still think a Ph.D. is necessary in today’s society? Especially in the context of education bias and the continued barriers to education.

While my journey may not have followed a traditional academic path, I firmly believe that personal growth and expertise are not solely determined by degrees but rather by experience, the types of projects undertaken, and the pursuit of knowledge.

Despite this, biases continue to exist within academia, and obtaining certain positions can be more challenging without a Ph.D. Nevertheless, I remain dedicated to pushing boundaries, challenging norms, and contributing to meaningful scientific advancements — it worked out for me.

What was your experience joining Ersilia?

Joining Ersilia was transformative for me. It allowed me to use my skills and passion to contribute to their pioneering work in open-source drug discovery and AI-driven healthcare solutions. Through Ersilia, I am part of a community that recognizes the immense potential and far-reaching impact of their work. The organization’s commitment to enabling collaboration, building tools, and fostering partnerships is reshaping the field of infectious disease research in low-resource settings. As more refined technologies emerge and the community continues to grow, the possibilities for transformative change in global health are boundless.

The work being done at Ersilia is truly groundbreaking and unique. There are no other organizations that are focusing on open-source drug discovery to the same extent. Their work is highly impactful and strategic, with a clear goal of addressing infectious diseases in the global south through drug discovery. Ersilia understands that collaboration and shared efforts are essential for success in such resource-intensive endeavors. By building tools like the Ersilia Hub, facilitating collaborations, and organizing workshops, they are bringing people together to tackle these challenges collectively. This approach ensures the establishment of a strong foundation that can have a lasting impact.

What projects did you work on during your time there?

During my time at Ersilia, I had the opportunity to work on several exciting projects that greatly expanded my skillset and allowed me to contribute to meaningful endeavors. One of the projects I was involved in was ChemXOR (https://github.com/ersilia-os/chemxor), a tool designed to ensure secure queries and facilitate collaboration in the pharmaceutical industry. This tool enables data sharing without compromising intellectual property, allowing valuable information to be exchanged. . In addition, I’ve also been developing and maintaining Ersilia’s main tools, the Ersilia Model Hub (https://ersilia.io/model-hub) and ZairaChem (https://github.com/ersilia-os/zaira-chem), as well as mentoring interns from the Outreachy program.

What was your experience working with Ersilia co-founders, Gemma and Miquel?

Working with Gemma and Miquel was a fantastic experience. They are both incredible individuals who foster an environment of trust, autonomy, and creativity. They provided me with the freedom to explore and encouraged me to think critically. In meetings, they actively listened and analyzed my thought processes, offering guidance whenever needed. This approach boosted my confidence and allowed me to test various problem-solving scenarios.

--

--

Alacia Armstrong
ersiliaio

Storyteller & digital strategist passionate about bridging the gap between scientists and the communities they serve