How football inspires my teaching (part 2 of 2)

David Elliott
Lead Your Legacy
4 min readJan 17, 2021

--

The second part of a two-part blog exploring how football has inspired my teaching

Victory comes from harmony

If there is one compliment I have valued from some of my observations, it is that “students feel safe to express themselves and contribute in my classrooms.” “Victoria Concordia Crescit” is the motto of Arsenal, the football team I support, it simply means that victory comes from harmony.

This doesn’t mean that my classrooms are free of conflict — the nature of my subjects (Citizenship and Religious Studies) invites debate, differing views and opinions and differences of beliefs; the key is prioritising each other’s right to an opinion, right to have our own beliefs, respecting the courage it takes to speak and most importantly; prioritising our learning.

Unconditional love and respect are paramount here to maintain peace. I often find in my teams that this conflict: open, resolved and respectful; is good for a team where trust is also nurtured. It’s why my teams and students have generally achieved the goals they set out to achieve.

Representation matters

Whilst on a tour of the Emirates with my fiancée asked me “why did you begin supporting Arsenal?”, I simply replied “Ian Wright”. Ian Wright was the player I went to see with my Dad in my first football match; it was Arsenal vs Crystal Palace. He was an example of black excellence, an elite footballer who embodied hard-work, faith and most importantly authentic expression.

I now try to ensure that my team and students see themselves in my sessions and classes. Whether it’s their race, sexuality, gender, socio-economic background, faith or if they’re neurodiverse: I try to ensure that my students see themselves if not, others; in my classroom via stories and pictures of what success looks like for somebody like them.

S.I.G.

Alistair Campbell’s book “Winners” was key here. S.I.G. stands for “Strategy is God”. Referring to business, cultural and footballing greats, Campbell highlights the need for goals to be set and strategies to be agreed upon and tactics to be refined if teams are to succeed.

Whether it’s a promotion, graduating, your impact or a career; setting goals that reflect our growth and complement the vision and mission of your team is important. Working in education means that the goals may change from year-to-year, but they have to be set. The strategy is key because it helps your team and students to prioritise and ask whether an action or task is going to move them forward (great for behaviour management of students and supporting the personal/professional development of your teams).

Relationships > Knowledge

Carlo Ancelotti wrote in ‘Quiet Leadership’ that “nobody cares how much you know until they know how much you care.” The value of relationships and the skills to build them was arguably one of the most important principles to learn during my teacher training. It’s true, learning what your students care about, investing time into them, makes your life as a teacher easier. Jose Mourinho told Harry Kane to go home to spend more time with his children, Ferguson allowing Ronaldo the time and space to grieve the death of his Father at an important time in the season; are managers showing they care about their team.

We build relationships in different ways, the likes of Bielsa and Benitez are managers who are distanced but available; Ferguson, Pep and Klopp are known to be more hands-on, people managers. What it won’t be, is perfect for everyone, what it will be; if you put in the time and effort; is easier to instil your knowledge and support them fulfilling of potential.

Two types of player that nobody wants

I once heard a quote that said: “there are two types of player no coach wants; a player who only does what the coach asksand the player who doesn’t do anything that’s asked of them.”

As a person who values control, I’m glad I learned this early, as it meant I was able to appreciate those who wanted to innovate and use their initiative to either express themselves, learn or make a difference that fulfilled our goals.

Making my classroom an environment where the extra-mile was not compulsory, yet celebrated and supported, as well as trying to exemplify the actions and benefits of initiative and innovation to support my students; it’s nice when students come in and are not only willing but will help with resources and preparation of their own accord.

“You’re more than a coach”

My first leadership role was for an under 12’s football team. The first tip I was told about being a leader? You have to be more than just a “coach” or a “manager”. This helped me prepare for my eventual landing into a school and a classroom because on paper, I’m a teacher and tutor; but in reality, I’ve been a counsellor, therapist, diplomat, cheerleader, advocate, detective, dietician and more. People management and knowing what my students and how they need me to be the best version of themselves was hit and miss, but I’m glad I’ve learned.

Finally…Prepare them for the pitch

Footballers are tested and proven on the pitch. Students are tested and proven by exams. Like the pitch, exams and assessments are the theatres of disappointment and joy, but what remains is that there is an opportunity to win, another game will come, another test will come and they need to be prepared.

I take the attitude of “if we train how we play, then we’ll play how we train.” This is to help with the transition of lessons to exams and even lecture halls and life. Students have to trust their teachers with their progress and potential, they need to feel equipped to handle the pressures of exams and the stresses that life will inevitably throw up.

If you prepare them when they are young, even when they are older, they will find solace, safety and strength in your teachings.

--

--

David Elliott
Lead Your Legacy

Teacher and Life Coach | Supporting people to define and develop their purpose and legacy🎙#LYLPodcast