100 Sketches Then, Awesome

Entrepreneurs Trust Their Gut Instinct

Lulu deCarron
Espresso Shot
2 min readAug 3, 2020

--

Vicky Chave, of Chave Design, knocked it out of the park with this logo she created for Lulu’s.

“Lu, to create the logo you envisioned, I needed to hand draw coffee cups, free-form. It took almost one hundred sketches to get it to look like this.” “Vicky, I love it, but am I paying you by the sketch, I said smiling?”

Now we needed to create the business cards.

We decided to use Vellum stock in ivory, floating the image, on a European sized business card, (2 3/4 x 3 3/4).

I was warned against using a larger sized business card for a myriad of reasons, but as an Entrepreneur, I trusted my gut instinct and went ahead with the size I felt was right.

Logo, hand-drawn by Vicki Chave

The result was exactly what I envisioned. Great response. People not only loved the way the cards looked, but they also used them as bookmarks. I received so many compliments on their uniqueness and beauty. It was a definite win, win with an unexpected perk, they created conversation.

all card info canceled with the sale of the business

I’m currently writing an essay regarding how entrepreneurs use their gut instincts, and creativity to navigate tricky areas of business, with positive results.

Thank you for reading, Lulu

--

--

Lulu deCarron
Espresso Shot

Entrepreneur, Storyteller, and a MultiPassionate Creative. As an autodidact, I am a student for life ✍️, ☕️