Diane DiMassa

Lulu deCarron
Espresso Shot
Published in
2 min readSep 15, 2020

--

Hot Head Piasan, Homicidal Lesbian Terrorist

Diane’s drawing of me drowning in a sea of coffee made me laugh out loud but it wasn’t surprising because she knew how much I love great coffee. This caricature was one of the centerpieces of her show. I was delighted when she presented it to me on the last day. I love it, so I wanted to share it with you.

It was in 1996 Diane DiMassa curated a show of her work at Lulu’s. She covered the walls of my tiny shop with 106 pieces, all different. So many people showed up; they spilled onto the sidewalk and down the block. We stopped counting at 125.

Artists from all over came to view and purchase her work. Some of the pieces were small and affordable, and some were much larger.
All 106 pieces were sold that night, with the stipulation they should stay up until the end of the show.

Diane DiMassa Bio Photo, Blogspot

Every month, for the 24 years I owned Lulu’s, I would let a different artist curate a show of their latest work. Some of the artists were well known, but many artists were just beginning their creative journeys.

I was delighted to see other independent businesses begin to use their walls to curate art shows.

It was important to me to help new artists show their work and remove the “politics of curation,” in my small way.

My criteria, because the shop was so tiny (250 sq. ft.) was that the art would be acceptable to the people sitting on the banquets. They would be eating and drinking directly beneath the paintings, drawings, and photographs.

The artists would offer to bring in appetizers and wine as their contribution. I would make a fancy dessert, post notices about the show, the artists’ bio, and the date of the opening party.

It was a party of connection. Attendees ran the spectrum colors, ethnicities, and our vibrant LGBTQ community.

Diane’s show was the most successful and playful art shows, at my coffeehouse, in memory.

She is showcased in Lambiek Comiclopedia

--

--

Lulu deCarron
Espresso Shot

Entrepreneur, Storyteller, and a MultiPassionate Creative. As an autodidact, I am a student for life ✍️, ☕️